Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Contributor
RaverWild
My Device: BlackBerry Bold 9790
My Carrier: Wind Mobile

Bold 9790 hardware problem: Battery drains fast

[ Edited ]

BlackBerry Bold 9790 hardware problem: Battery drains fast

Now don't get me wrong from the begining - this is not my first phone, I am a Software Developer (not BlackBerry developer, but anyway a developer), so I am not simply complaining and  I know what I'm talking about. Also important fact is that I purchased 2 9790s from the same store, configured them the same way and experiencing the same thing.

1) I did everything described in the "How to save battery life" article in the user manual for 9790

2) so i regularly check with the "blackberry button" what's open and close everything, except the applications which cannot be closed

3) wifi disabled

4) internet constant on from carrier provider with my service plan

5) backlight brightness lowered to 10

6) only 3 newsfeeds left, 2 of which are the Blackbery official feeds (so they don't update really), update interval set to 4 hours (today turned it to 6 hours - same result)

7) the only battery draining thing left are the location services (i guess it holds the GPS turned on)

8) twitter update set to bigger interval too

Honestly I have no idea what else to optimise. I re-charge every day at least once. If I start to take pictures with the camera by DAY TIME (so no flash used) i have to re-charge twice a day! I spend half the day in the office with my 9790 in the USB port of the computer for re-charge.

Sorry guys, but that s*x!! Tell your manager or whoever did the decision to use that battery to do something and to do it very quick, because the phone is great and I love it, just this battery is not for this phone.