Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
Westcountryboy78
My Device: Bold 9900

Bold 9900 switching off randomly.

I have had a Bold 9900 for a little over a week now, whilst the battery is not that great on it (even with auto power off turned on and screen brightness right down) my major issue seems to be with the it switching off and rebooting randomly. 

Some days it will go the whole day without doing it, others it will do it three or four times during the day, sometimes during a call, sometime when it is just sat in my pocket.

I have seen other threads on here about the issue but nothing seems to come up with a definitive answer or solution to the problem, are Blackberry going to do a software update or is mine just a bad phone that needs exchanging sooner rather than later?

I previously had a 9780 which never missed a beat so hope that this issue can be sorted on this phone. 

Retired
FrankieS
My Device: BlackBerry Z10 smartphone

Re: Bold 9900 switching off randomly.

[ Edited ]

Hi Westcountryboy78,

Welcome to the Support Community!

Have you been able to test your BlackBerry® Bold™ 9900 smartphone with another battery to rule out any issue with the battery itself?

Thanks.

-FS

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

New Contributor
Westcountryboy78

FS

Just spent best part of 2 hours on and off, backing up, doing a clean reload and then restoring all the data back to the phone and ten minutes after that I put the phone back down on the desk and it switches off again.

So, in answer to your question, no a clean reload seems to make no difference to the issue in question.