Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
jpricorp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Bold release in USA???

Since no one knows when the Bold will be released in the USA I wanted to know if anyone could answer another question. I see that the Bold has been released in Canada. I currently have Sprint as a provider and the 8830. You can buy just the Bold from a provider out of Canada. Can I do that and us my current SIM card from my 8830 and put it into the Bold and have everything be O.K.???

JSanders
Posts: 87,328
Likes: 23,336
Solutions: 6,028
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Bold release in USA???

No, that wouldn't work. The Bold is currently only a GSM network device.

 

Your Sprint is a CDMA network carrier. You can't mix.

 

The Rogers Bold will work on ATT in the US.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
mAddi13
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Bold release in USA???

[ Edited ]
are you sure that if i buy the blackberry bold from Rogers in Canada it will work fine if i use AT&T?!
Message Edited by mAddi13 on 10-03-2008 05:53 PM
New Contributor
jpricorp
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Bold release in USA???

Thanks for the reply. I firured the bold was built on a different type of platform and it wouldn't work. I guess I'll just have to wait until it's release in the USA... Thanks again.
JSanders
Posts: 87,328
Likes: 23,336
Solutions: 6,028
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Bold release in USA???

[ Edited ]

mAddi13 wrote:
are you sure that if i buy the blackberry bold from Rogers in Canada it will work fine if i use AT&T?!
Message Edited by mAddi13 on 10-03-2008 05:53 PM

 

Yep, and trust me, you won't be the first to have done the same. You only need to get it unlocked for use on another carrier.

 

If you need to contact someone to unlock it for you, www.horizonwirelessonline.com can do it, they are trusted and reputable vendors for such service.

Message Edited by JSanders on 10-03-2008 06:06 PM




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
mAddi13
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Bold release in USA???

ok...thanks...i have now found out it is to be released sometime this year by at&t...i just have to figure out when now...

 

i really want this phone...i have had a pearl for almost a yr now...and just last monday i dropped it for the first time and now the screen no longer works...so i need a new phone and was about to settle for another pearl...but i am glad that i waited... 

 

thanks again.. 

New Member
pdapd
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Bold release in USA???

thanks for info