Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
raf2016
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Cannot get Wi-Fi to work

Enterprise email works fine, phone function works fine but I cannot seem to get the Wi-Fi working :manmad:

I've pulled the battery while on and started up again to no avail.  My home network works fine just not sure what I'm doing wrong. I go into Wi-Fi setup and 'Manually Add Network', type in the network name (SSID), set the security to WEP then type in my WEP key.  I receive a message the connection was successful, but when I try and open my browser I get the following error message "Unable to connect to the selected Mobile Data Service, please try again later

 

Phone is a bold 9000  v4.6.0.126  platform 4.0.0.135

 

 

AAARRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guru I
Bifocals
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Cannot get Wi-Fi to work

Hi and welcome to the forums!

 

Please use the following link for research, I used wifi setup key words:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do

 

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB14477&sliceId=SAL_Pub...

 

 

 http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB14605&sliceId=SAL_Pub...

 

Thanks,

 

Please remember to resolve your thread. Put the check mark in the green box that contained your answer! Thanks 

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
raf2016
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Cannot get Wi-Fi to work

Thanks Bifocals!

I found out it was something as simple as enabling Java script :smileyvery-happy:

Visitor
dulceamor80
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Cannot get Wi-Fi to work

Can u please take me with baby steps to conect wi-fi? have already tried, but when I write the wep key there is a sign saying " WEP  must be 10 or hexadecimal (0-9,A-F)digits, or 5 or 13 character"  when my info about WEP is just WEP. 128  I desperate need baby steps cause my English is not good!!! Thanks