Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
Hemant107
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
My Device: Bold 9700

Contacts transfer

How do i change the size of Address Book Database?

 

 

Bold 9700.... it supports only 553 and i need to put 1600 in that

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,265
Likes: 23,046
Solutions: 5,929
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Contacts transfer

Who told you that it only supports 553?

It will hold thousands, limited only by the available memory on the device.

 

What are you trying to do... details of your issue will certainly help.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Hemant107
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Contacts transfer

i m syncing my contacts through windows contacts. i have approx 1500-1600 contacts and some of them have like 10 mobile no. The problem is that whenever i am syncing it gets stuck at 553. Than i checked my phone and on status in Database transfer it says that 

Total Size 1508.7k

 

Address Book 553/856.8k

and then other stuff follows.

 

I need to urgently transfer the contacts... if you could help in this then i will be grateful to you.

 

Thanks 

Hemant

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Hemant107
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Contacts transfer

i also have 8Gb memory card of Samsung in it

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 85,265
Likes: 23,046
Solutions: 5,929
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Contacts transfer

[ Edited ]

Ok, well getting stuck at 553 doesn't mean that's the maximum allowed. That only means you have a glitch in a contact that needs fixing.

 

You need to look at that contact around that area to see what the problems is, check the Sync log, usually it can be a contat with First, Last or Company name, which each contact must have.

 

If you sync wirelessly, there is a 8,000 maximum that will sync and if you sync with a wired connect, it is limited to 32,000.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Hemant107
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Contacts transfer

Thanks for the help, it worked great. But now I have other problem. 

 

Before this I was using Nokia E71 so I took my contacts to windows address book from there. The problem is that most of my contacts have 5-6 mobile no. Some of them got their full details transferred where as rest only 1-2 no.  I checked into this problem and what i found was that the contact which got transferred completely had there numbers divided as in mobile, work , home etc... but the other contacts which have their detals like mobile 1, mobile 2 etc. So there is only one no. coming. 

 

 

Please help in this Regards

 

 

Thanks

Hemant Baid

Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
darocker077
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
My Device: Xperia Ray

Re: Contacts transfer

Hemant107 - You have to make this clear.. BlackBerry & Nokia are running through two different type of OS, file types... etc. So, you can't transfer contact from Nokia to BlackBerry...

 

P.S: you have another solution... if you needed I can let you know...??

.RoCkInG dUdE.
Trust Your Technolust | Do not PM for any support
If a solution received, please hit on to show your support.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Hemant107
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
My Device: Bold 9700

Re: Contacts transfer

of course dude, if it's simple one lol don't tell me to insert contacts one by one lol

Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
darocker077
Posts: 484
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
My Device: Xperia Ray

Re: Contacts transfer

well, if you nokia phone supports exporting/importing contact via MS Outlook.. then you upload all the contact there using your PC suite.. and then, you can sync all the contacts to BlackBerry using Desktop Manager...  :smileyhappy:

 

Else, you can sync all the contacts to your gmail (if you have one)... and while you add your gmail to BlackBerry it will ask you to sync contact from google... by this also, you can sync it... but, I never did this so.... :smileysurprised:

.RoCkInG dUdE.
Trust Your Technolust | Do not PM for any support
If a solution received, please hit on to show your support.
Please use plain text.
New Member
orib
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-23-2011
My Device: Bold

Re: Contacts transfer

Did you ever figure out the solution (to: "but the other contacts which have their detals like mobile 1, mobile 2 etc. So there is only one no. coming")?  Would love to know how to fix, as I have the same problem

Please use plain text.