Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
JASharf
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Deciding on Purchasing my First Blackberry - BOLD

I have been using a Palm Treo for the last 10 years or so.  I am ready to take the next step and finally join the rest of the world and get a Blackberry.  I am debating whether to get a Curve 8330 or wait for a Bold.  I just have a few questions and I am hoping someone out there will be able to help me decide by answering these 4 questions:

1) Will the Bold be usable internationally like the World phone (8830)?  I have service from Verizon Wireless (USA).

2) Will the bold have a Camera and video recording capabilities, like the Curve?

3) One reason why I liked the Curve better than the World phone is bcz the Curve's buttons have space between them and that makes it easier to text and write emails.  I noticed, unlike the curve, the Bold's buttons are close together like the world phone, without any spacing.  Does anyone know if texting is difficult on the Bold, like it is on the World phone?

~Jason 

Please use plain text.
Contributor
gatee
My Device: BB Bold 9000

Re: Deciding on Purchasing my First Blackberry - BOLD

Hi Jason,

I justed moved from a 8320 to a Bold and after the first week, I am not sure if it was a good decision. Compare to the Curve, the Bold seems to be heavy ... and it is bigger.

To answer you questions ...

1) Curve 8330 supports Dual-band 800/1900 Mhz CDMA2000 1X EvDO networks. It works in Europe and Japan (non GSM networks). Bold 9000 supports 2G networks (850/1900 MHz GSM/GPRS for North America, 900/1800 MHz GSM/GPRS for Europe and APAC) and 3G networks (850/1900/2100 MHz HSDPA). Japanese/Asian DCMA are not supported.