Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
orangestar
My Device: NEW - Bold 9000, OLD - 8800
Accepted Solution

Desperate with New Bold - PLEASE HELP with Restoring Historical Email with BES

Hi all,

This is my first post. I would appreciate any help that anyone can provide. I have been using a BB 8800 GSM for 2 years and was just shipped a new BB Bold 9000 GSM. I use it mostly for work with our company email, and also for address book and calendaring. My company uses Exchange 2003 and Blackberry Enterprise Server which I can only guess is v4.0 or 4.1. I am 

As I mentioned I use the BB for work and like having my historical email available on it as I often need to find older emails when not in the office. I backed up the 8800 using the Desktop Manager SW v4.6. I also performed a Switch Device using the DM software while both devices were connected to my laptop via USB. It successfully restored the data onto the Bold. However on the Bold I cannot send or receive email with my work email. I can make calls, send text, browse the web, send email from my Yahoo account which is also setup with the BB.

I also logged in to the Blackberry Internet Service page and updated my device on the wireless network and updated the service book. This enabled my Yahoo account to work on the BB. However I am still without corporate email.

My question is do I need my BES administrator to make a change on the BES? Does he need to do an Enterprise Activation? If so is there a way to do the EA and still keep my historical data via the Desktop Manager backup & restore process?