Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
johnvice
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Telus
Accepted Solution

Downgrading to OS 5

I need to run a BlackBerry in OS5, how do I downgrade?

 

I'd ideally like to do this on a Bold9700. I question if I do a factory reset, will OS5 be there?

 

I also have a Bold9790 running OS7 I could use.

 

Please advise. -

 

TIA

 

- John

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,960
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

Hi johnvice

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Community Forums

 

 

Well.. I don't find any OS pack from any Carrier who have OS 5 for  BlackBerry Bold 9790 ! BlackBerry Software Download Site

 


johnvice wrote:

 I question if I do a factory reset, will OS5 be there?

 

I also have a Bold9790 running OS7 I could use.

 


Factory reset has nothing to do with our device OS , If we do a factory reset it will only remove all user data from within that device , your device will be like as new as it was when you recieve it for the first time.  

But why you want to downgrade to OS 5 ? 

 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
johnvice
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

"But why you want to downgrade to OS 5 ? "

 

I use 3rd party hardware (iLane 6100) that is incompatable with OS6

 

Some software aps I use are not compatable with OS7.

 

Thus, OS5 lets me do everthing I want with my Bb :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,960
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

Sorry you can't Install OS 5 on your BlackBerry Bold 9790  (:

 

If you believe all of your apps will work on OS 5 then you have to choose a device which runs on OS 5 , Bold 9700 , Curve 9300, 8520 and many :smileyhappy:

 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
johnvice
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

Thanks for your help :smileyhappy:

 

So how do I take my 9700 from OS6 to OS5?

 

I downloaded 9700AllLang_PBr5.0.0_rel1446_PL5.1.0.175_A5.0.0.862_Telus_Mobility.exe, which executed without a problem from my desktop PC, BlackBerry desktop invoked and then...nothing.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
icedgorilla
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎07-21-2013
My Device: 9900
My Carrier: xl

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

Hi,

the best way to upgrade or downgrade is google your BB model

and download the latest O/S available.

it doesnt have to be from your carrier, you can use O/S from any carrier you like.

 

- install DM and O/S on your PC

- download BBsak and install on your PC

- backup your BB twice using DM, in case one of them is corrupt.

- run BBsak and choose "wipe device" , wait untill you get error 507

- go to my computer -  local disk C - program files - common files - Research In Motion -

Apploader and delete Vendor XML

- double click on Loader, and just install the new O/S

- once its done, reboot the BB, then using DM to restore your back up

- done !

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,960
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Downgrading to OS 5


johnvice wrote:

Thanks for your help :smileyhappy:

 

So how do I take my 9700 from OS6 to OS5?

 

I downloaded 9700AllLang_PBr5.0.0_rel1446_PL5.1.0.175_A5.0.0.862_Telus_Mobility.exe, which executed without a problem from my desktop PC, BlackBerry desktop invoked and then...nothing.

 

 


Hi johnvice 

 

It is good if you already have a device which supports OS 5 , Regarding downgrading the OS you can try those simple steps :

 

1.Locate and Download the OS you desire from here  BlackBerry Software Download Site

  • (make sure you are downloading for the same model as you have )

2. Now Double Click  on the file that you Downloaded to Install it on your PC

 

3. Download and install the latest BlackBerry desktop software from here BlackBerry desktop software

  • Then using desktop software perform your full backup of your device.

4.Search your C: Drive for any Vendor.xml files and delete them, there may be one or two vendor.xml ( On your PC change your folders option to show hidden files / folders  :

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\Windows UserName\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

 

5. Go to C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader. (For 64-bit Vista or Windows 7, the path       will be C: > Program Files x86 > Common Files > Research In Motion > AppLoader) double click Loader.exe

 

      Downgarde will continue then After Installation of New OS restore your backup using BlackBerry desktop

Software.

_______________________________________

 

As you already downloaded the OS pack so you can skip # steps 1 , and continue with the rest .But please note don't Install multiple OS pack on your PC , if you already have any other OS pack install in your PC other then the one you'll be using  then Uninstall it .

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
johnvice
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

Thanks to everyone who posted here to help me. I am now back in the 'stone age' (circa 2009) with OS5 fully functioning on a Bold9700 :smileyhappy:
Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,960
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve
My Carrier: BSNL

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

Hi johnvice

 

 

You are welcome.. I hope now you can enjoy and run all the apps that you needed on your Bold 9700 :smileyhappy:

 

 

Cheers !

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
johnvice
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-23-2013
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Telus

Re: Downgrading to OS 5

[ Edited ]

Can OS5 run on a Bold9790?  (My 9700 just died :smileysad:  )

Please use plain text.