Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
marumidennis
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
My Device: 9930
My Carrier: Sprint
Accepted Solution

Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

I receive the error message above when I attempt to sync my contacts. The error began after I updated to 7.1

Desktop software tells me to make an error log and send to tech support. Help please.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,991
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

I suggest this thread:

It starts with a process for cleanly starting over, and there is some discussion, and there is also a post (15) with links to older Desktop Software versions, if those are needed. Note that this is not, by any means, guaranteed to work...but it has worked for many to resolve issues they are having.

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
marumidennis
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
My Device: 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

i foillowed the steps and cleaned and re installed, following the steps, and it did not work.

When I went to sync, I received a different eroor message.

Now I am back to square one, Error message 140in.\Error.cpp: send error log.

 

Its telling me read sync statys for 44 records. which seems to be the error

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,991
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

I don't recall where, but I know I've seen a KB that discusses this...and that there is presently no resolution. Hence, the reason for providing, in that other thread, links to prior Desktop Software versions (for those folks for which no other remedy will work). The process would be the same as in post 1...just using the older Desktop Software installation package instead of the most current.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
marumidennis
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
My Device: 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

so, use an older desktop version with the current updated phone software?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,991
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

Exactly. There is no requirement that the Desktop Software and the BB OS package be of the same level.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
marumidennis
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
My Device: 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

NO LUCK.

Thanks for the help anyway.

 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,991
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

Wow...with the level of detail provided to you, yelling "NO LUCK" is an incredibly brief result. There are several options to try, several prior versions of the Desktop Software to try, and many other variations. But, from yelling of "NO LUCK", I have no way to guide you further...all I can surmise is that you tried every permutation of possibilities, and none worked for you. Which leaves me with nothing more to give. Sorry. Good luck.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
marumidennis
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎07-13-2012
My Device: 9930
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

I appreciate the help, but no matter what I've done its bben an issue. It actaully began with my 9650 before I upgraded to the 9930. Its so frustrating. It interferes with my work schedule as I'm trying to repair my computer. I don't mean to sound negative, its just a pain. I feel like tossing the towel.

 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 47,991
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message 140in.\Error.cpp.

Well, I'd love to keep trying to help you, but I can't without more information. So, if you do want to continue, you need to provide more details...maybe I can see something in the steps you attempted that would prove useful. Maybe not, but maybe. If you toss in the towel, you guarantee your result...if you keep trying and provide details, there is a possibility of success.

Your path is your own to choose...

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.