Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
My Device: Bold
Accepted Solution

Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

[ Edited ]

I'm having issues trying to download etrade mobile pro on my bold. From the etrade site, I'm instructed to go from my phone to etrade.com/mobile to directly download this app to my phone. When there, I get an message stating I need Adobe Flash player to view the site (there are no etrade download radio buttons). When I attempt to download adobe flash player, I get an error saying the file is too large.

I need help installing mobile pro to my bold. Do I need an abode flash player liscense? Would anyone be willing to walk me through the process?

Message Edited by zerohpunkie on 01-28-2009 11:21 PM
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

Hi,

 

Sorry but you cant get flash to work on the Bold, or any other BB devcie.

 

I would contact the etrade program makers (support) and ask for the direct link to download it as it wont work on the BB.

 

Actually, I dont know of any mobile that would be able to use Flash so I dont see why they would set up the mobile website to use flash.Sounds like someone forgot some basic web issues when programming their mobile website...

 

 

Gee, wonder if they've had many people using their program on mobiles!!

 



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

Hi and welcome to the forums!

 

Are you using mobile etrade.com?

There isn't any flash content displayed there.

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

Hello. I'm new to bb (1 month). I'm still seeing the same thing regarding adobe when I go to the site. Maybe I don't have my bold or browser configured properly? I'm using my bold straight out of the box (at&t). I'm a mac user so I am unable to update my bb via my comp. This is the 2nd such app I haven't been able to download. Do either of think this could be a newbie set up issue?
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

[ Edited ]

Hi,

The link I sent you is expressly for mobile users.

Start the browser go to options, select browser configuration.

Check all boxes. Under browser identification select Blackberry.

That is the browser I used for the site. If you still have problems

change that option to IE or Firefox, see if the problem continues.

 

Before you try the site again, use the browser cache option and clear all

items.

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Message Edited by Bifocals on 01-29-2009 01:53 AM
Message Edited by Bifocals on 01-29-2009 01:54 AM
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

Hi Bifocals.

Thanks so much for your help so far.

I tried all you recommended without success. With each attempt, I continue to get the same page (adobe reqiured and blank).

Not sure what I'm doing incorrectly?

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

Hi,

This is the address I get in on.

 

https://mobile.etrade.com/e/t/mobilepro/mobile_overview

 

Just copy it and paste to your browser.

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-13-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

[ Edited ]

Oh you are awesome!

I just now got it to work. I changed my browser again, then did a hard reset. I tried the whole thing all over again and it worked. The link you provided worked. I cannot thank you enough for the support tonight. :smileyhappy:

 

 

best regards,

Richard

 

 

PS - I tired to kudo you. Hope I did it right.

Message Edited by zerohpunkie on 01-29-2009 03:29 AM
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Etrade Mobile Pro for Bold

Cool!

Glad you got it working.

 

Bifocals

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter