Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

My Device: Bold
My Carrier: Verizon

Extracting contacts from an old .bbb file without overwriting contacts/calendar/etc currently on the BB

Hello,

This is my first time posting here.  I'm trying to help my dad out with his BB.  About one year ago, my dad retired and his company's IT group backed up his data (produced a .bbb file), then wiped the phone clean.  He never got around to restoring the contacts from this bbb file into his phone.  So now he's operating in an unfortunate intermediate state of having manually entered ~100 contacts into his address book, modified his calendars and other personal data, but not having access to his ~3,000 contacts from before the clean-wipe of his BB.

So naturally he wants to merge the old ~3,000 contacts from his .bbb file with the ~100 contacts currently in his phone.

I don't want to just do a restore to the old .bbb file because he will lose his newly (manually) entered information (contacts, calendar, etc. -- right?).  Ideally, I'd like to pull out his 3,000 contacts from his .bbb file and merge them with his ~100 contacts currently in his BB. 

But after a few hours searching online, I have not figured out how to extract contacts from the old .bbb file.  I've tried using MagicBerry, but that program fails to read the .bbb file (this is unfortunate, because I've been able to generate a .bbb file for his current phone setup and extract contacts as csv from that using MagicBerry). 

For what it's worth, on a mac, I renamed his old .bbb file to .zip.  After unzipping, I find that the Databases/ folder contains 111 .dat files (but no .ipd file).  In principle one (or more) of these .dat files contains the contacts.  Is there a way to generate a .csv of contacts from the .dat file(s)?