Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Highlighted
New Contributor
My Device: bb bold 9700
My Carrier: ee
Accepted Solution

Help on map apps

I'm quite new to using blackberry's,I have a bold 9700, and I bought a 'gps maps using Google' app to hopefully use it but when I open it it loads the map and my position, then when I ask it to anything else it says 'the memory available on your device is low. Close some of the items below.' there is nothing to close cause nothing else is running!! Then it shuts it self down because ' sorry! We're closing this page because it is too large to load.!! It says.  does anyone know what's happening and or what i can do for it to run properly??? Or a map app similar that will run on my phone thankyou please Smiley Wink adi.....

Solutions: 6,171
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Help on map apps

You don't need a paid GPS app to run either Google Maps or BlackBerry Maps.

FIRST, Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot. A reboot in this manner is prescribed for most glitches and operating system errors, and you will lose no data on the device doing this.

THEN, you can download Google Maps from this URL on your BlackBerry:

www.google.com/mobile/other

forget or delete the other application.

Have you tried using BlackBerry Maps?

1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes

Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel