Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

How secure is the wipe feature on BlackBerry devices? Should I be worried?

Before you start reading, please understand that I am a security freak and would like other security gurus to help me out with my dilemma. I'm new to BlackBerry phones, but not a newbie in the whole tech scene. The bold paragraph includes the questions that I really want to know more about.

Okay here it goes. I came from an original iPhone and with OS 1.0 we couldn't do secure wipes. We actually had to fill up the drive with music and videos so that it would overwrite any information. Had to do this many many times (5-10x times) too, because just filling it up once wasn't enough to write over data. But with 2.0, Apple made it to where you can have the iPhone do a secure erase by having it write zeros on the drive. It took a while (1 hour or so), but it got the job done.

Well, I've grown up now and I've moved to the BlackBerry platform. I started out last year with the Bold and will be moving to the Curve 8900. But before I do, the wife wants me to sell the Bold first. But before I sell it, I want to secure wipe everything on it. All the DIY guides say to go into options>security>and wipe the device and type the word "blackberry". Great! Now I know how to do it.

But what I want to know now is how secure is this method of wiping? Can someone, if anyone, restore my contacts, passwords, or anything that was stored? Should I do to the Bold what I did to my original iPhone and fill it up with data and wipe the device 5 times or so? 

Developer
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: How secure is the wipe feature on BlackBerry devices? Should I be worried?

Wipe is a secure action.