Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
Hero_IcePrince
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9780
Accepted Solution

Is there support for East Asian Languages for the Blackberry Bold 9780 on O2?

Hello, I hope someone will be able to help me with my problem. I am new to the whole Blackberry business as I only bought my first BB device a few days ago so please understand if I don't know what certain terms are in the Blackberry world. The questions will be in bold.

So I recently bought a Blackberry Bold 9780 and I'm very satisfied with the overall product. However I was wondering if there was support for East Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean etc.) for my BB 9780 which is on O2 UK.

At the current moment, in my languages options, I can only input mostly European languages (English, Spanish, French etc.) There are no options for East Asian languages at all. When I try to view any messages or go on the browser which have east asian languages, I can only see a set of black squares.

I know there are software updates in which you can update your device to support specific languages so I checked the sotware downloads page which interests me.

For O2-UK users, they has two packages:

- BlackBerry Handheld Software v6.0.0.905 (All Languages)

Package Version: 6.0.0.905
Consisting of:

• Applications: 6.0.0.294
  • Software Platform: 6.5.0.54
  • File name: 9780AllLang_PBr6.0.0_rel905_PL6.5.0.54_A6.0.0.294_O2_UK.exe
  • File size: 180.72MB
  •  

- BlackBerry Handheld Software v6.0.0.0905 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 6.0.0.905
Consisting of:

• Applications: 6.0.0.294
  • Software Platform: 6.5.0.54
  • File name: 9780jAllLang_PBr6.0.0_rel905_PL6.5.0.54_A6.0.0.294_O2_UK.exe
  • File size: 185.61MB