Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
akadamikz
My Device: Not Specified

Issue/Question about Internet connection with Blackberry Bold

I am new to the blackberry device and do not have the data plan for my blackberry.  I have the bold and I am connected to my wifi at home, but how do I know that I am not on 3G?  I just want to be connected to my wifi connection. Thank you for any advice.

New Contributor
akadamikz

Re: Issue/Question about Internet connection with Blackberry Bold

I just checked the Services Status and under the Blackberry Internet Service it says not connected and my Wi-Fi network shows as active on the bottom of the page...does this mean that I am on my Wi-Fi network?
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

If you don't have any data plan and you don't download any third application ( like miniopera ) the only way to surf on the web is with the WiFi.

Without any data plan, you can surf ONLY with WiFi 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Donald

I do not think that is true Urumilton. I have a similar problem to the OP but I will go a step further to say that when I disable the Data but not the wifi or mobile the wifi still appears to be connected but the browser/MSN etc won't connect to the internet. I have looked around and this seems to be a common problem and possible sneaky business approach. The device does have wifi, but the wifi is useless without using data. I would like a better answer as if I can't use wifi without data then this phone is going back.