Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2012
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

Log in to your router.  QoS is on the left side under Advanced settings.  At the top, unclick Enable WMM (Wifi Multi Media).  That did the trick for me.  Very simple.  Of course, I spent hours on the phone with all kinds of tech support people first.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

I diabled my 5 setting on my router & now my blackberry has connected on the 2.4 - fingers crossed hope this has solved it

 

Guru III
Posts: 31,128
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

Some more info

 

run it at 2.4 ghz and not both 2.4 and 5

 

try using WPA2 only and not both WPA and WPA2

 

turn off N if not much else is using it, seem N still is not standardized. I have it turned off on al my work wouters and most of my issues went away.

 

There is a 20/40 setting on some, try with just 20 or 40 but not both.

 

Also a router reboot can cure things too, mine at home needs it once a month or so but my second one does not.

 

also try not using a common wifi channel that all your neighbors are using

 

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
My Device: torch 9860

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

I'm using a torch 9860 and I have this problem. My email, facebook, twitter etc all work but when i try to use the browser I get the 'unable to connect to internet' message.

It has worked in the past.
I have a data plan.
my laptops work fine on the internet.
The torch shows its connected to my netgear router (rangemax DG834PN).
tried turning mobile hotspots on but i get th error: 'cannot start mobile hotspot due to a temporary network problem'
I dont seem to have QoS on this router.

Can't understand why it was working but not now!

Contributor
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎02-10-2010
My Device: torch 9860

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

just to let everyone know, I installed the latest os update and, so far, the problem is cured.
Guru III
Posts: 31,128
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

Look at my tips on wifi

Speed-up-BlackBerry-Wi-Fi-connections-a-knottyrope-tip

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Guru III
Posts: 31,128
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook, BlackBerry Wireless Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

These knottyrope tips might help you out. This is not an end all solution but I have come across these issues in the past years. Go slow and document what you do. Worst case is resetting your router to default and starting over.

 

Router running latest firmware? Update it as many are shipped with and old version as they sometimes sit on a shelf for months.  Also a Wi-Fi router more than 5 years old might not work well with multiple devices.

 

Using a Hidden SSID? You should never hide SSID - hiding SSID is a violation of the 802.11 spec and this can be a pain with setup. Most new devices can see them anyways.

 

Using the same SSID as your neighbor? This is not good, you need a unique name or it can try to connect to both. I have seen NetGear 5 times in one neighborhood and after a simple name change you can have fast Wi-Fi

 

Using 2.4 and 5 ghz on one single SSID? This can be a burden, drop it to 2.4 and it could make a difference. Newer routers support a separate SSID for both frequencies.

 

Using WiFi B? If not using B then disable it or a rouge device might try to connect and knock your speed down to B speed.

 

WEP vs WPA? Not all N devices support WEP or WPA, Best to use WPA2 if all devices support it. Don’t try both WPA and WPA2 as some devices get confused. Some Wi-Fi routers do not support WPA2 AES-CCMP just AES, see if yours supports it. Most newer routers do have accelerated AES encryption but not for WEP. Older encryption methods will be slower.

 

WEP can be hacked in minutes not matter what password you use. If you have no choice but to use WEP, use only one WEP key as some devices will not know what to do with the other ones. Remember thath this encryption method will be slower.

 

Channel speed settings 20, 40 or both? Try 20 as most will work on it. Some devices will not like 40 only or even set to both. Check this on both 2.4 ghz and 5ghz on dual SSID routers. Using the default channel your router was setup with? Try a different channel other than the common 6 or 11 channel. Use the Auto Channel hopping feature if your router has it, mine didn’t work but it may for you.

Using Multiple Wi-Fi routers? place them on separate Wi-Fi channels so they don’t interfere.

 

Newer routers do QOS better so don’t be making this change right away on a newer model. older models with QOS for WMM Wi-Fi multimedia and VOIP priority on older models may not work well. if you don’t need or use it, don’t enable it. I turn off all QOS settings with great results since we don’t use the features.

 

Does your router only support 1 VPN connection? If this is the case then you might not be able to access BIS over Wi-Fi when other devices are using it or VPN. Many newer routers support 4 or more VPN connections.

 

DNS servers slow? Try OpenDNS.org and see if speed improves.

 

MTU matched up? Not a common issue but this can be a fun one as not all routers will set it to your ISP setting. 1500 is a standard but you can try 1492 for DSL lines or ones that use PPOE.

 

Using Extended range? If you don’t have matching card for your brand router it might not work well. Try turning it off.

 

UPNP turned off? Turn it on as your device may setup some port forwarding rules.

 

Using ISP modem and your own router/Wi-Fi router? Don’t enable NAT on your own routers as Double NAT can cause connection problems.

 

All port speeds matched? Check your Router WAN port speed, mine was set to 10Mbit by the ISP before. Also make sure its set to correct duplex mode and match it with other equipment.

 

Using cordless phones? Replace your 2.4GHz cordless phones with either a 900Mhz or 5.8GHz style so they won’t interfere.

 

Use Wi-Fi sharing on a PlayBook? It’s important to switch off AP Isolation if your router has it. Mine has it on by default

 

Custom firewall rules can be fun, try to allow default and slowly make changes and take notes on what you enable or disable.

 

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-01-2014
My Device: 23

Re: Netgear WVPN824 WiFi issue connecting to BIS/BES

I have faced the issue, i got its solution. So  Solve your issue with me.