Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
Contributor
jespinal
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-19-2013
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

Sanders, any other idea to resolve this problem?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,862
Likes: 22,670
Solutions: 5,838
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

Nope, none additional.

 

I've read back over this thread, and I see my earlier comments a year or more ago to other users, stating that using the 9700 as a wifi hotspot is not possible, without having the BIS plan subscribed. So, I may have misled you to believe otherwise, I don't know why I didn't read my own comments to others in this thread first. :smileysad:




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jespinal
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-19-2013
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

Thanks, That is why I got to the conclusión that this is an abuse from blackberry to obligate people to buy BIS to navigate by using WIFI. It is absolutely crazy, I finished this thread promising not to buy a blackberry again in my whole life, un less a patch is delivered.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,862
Likes: 22,670
Solutions: 5,838
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

Again, your word "abusive" is silly and not applicable to this issue.

 

Perhaps it's a lack of depth in the English language.

 

good luck.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?


jespinal wrote:

Thanks, That is why I got to the conclusión that this is an abuse from blackberry to obligate people to buy BIS to navigate by using WIFI. It is absolutely crazy, I finished this thread promising not to buy a blackberry again in my whole life, un less a patch is delivered.


you may wait for the patch for a long time.

What is fact is that all the new BlackBerry10 phones do not require (and cannot use) the BIS anymore.

 

This is true for the Z10, Q10, Q5 and Z30.

 

So in a way, BlackBerry has fulfilled your wish for their new phones.




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jespinal
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-19-2013
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

Thanks for your comment, but this is my last blackberry.  I am not sure of any other crazy idea Blackberry developers may come with to limit my rigths. 

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

So you quit BlackBerry the day they give you more rights. :smileyvery-happy:



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
Contributor
jespinal
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-19-2013
My Device: 9700
My Carrier: tmobile

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

I would say blackberry is very behind, there are several other manufacturers who have been providing that simple functionality for several years. 

 

What is really important here is that the device is capable of WIFI Navigation, but for you to use that you HAVE TO BUY a license called BIS. So it is extremelly anoying.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?

not for recent devices : Z10, Q10, Q5 and Z30 do not require a BIS license.

And many users complained about that, because BIS was much cheaper than a regular internet plan for the old models.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,862
Likes: 22,670
Solutions: 5,838
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No Data Plan - Connected to Wi-Fi but No Internet Access?


jespinal wrote:

Thanks for your comment, but this is my last blackberry.  I am not sure of any other crazy idea Blackberry developers may come with to limit my rigths. 


You have no right to the internet. It is not a "right". No more than you have a "right" to toilet paper or Hostess twinkies or to electricity.

 

One automobile runs off gasoline, another may run off diesel fuel.

If you have a diesel fueled automobile manufactured by Volvo, and you desire it to run on regular gasoline, Volvo is not "abusing" you by forcing you to buy diesel fuel, and you certainly don't have a right to demand that Volvo allow gasoline.

 

However, you have a choice to purchase an automobile of your liking, fueled by your choice of petrol.

Same with mobile smartphones. Make a choice, but don't claim you're being abused.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.