Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
Lou1960
My Device: 9650 Bold
Accepted Solution

Password Keeper

I just updated my device software for my Bold 9650.  In the process, I lost the icon for "Password Keeper" - and all saved passwords.  I restored from a recent back-up, but the Password Keeper application/information did not come back.

Any ideas as to whether I can recover that info, and if so, how?  I had lots of info there and would very much like to recover it.

Thanks.

Please use plain text.
Regular Contributor
techlawyer
My Device: 9930

Re: Password Keeper

I should first say that I am not a Blackberry expert -- unlike some of the folks who post on this forum.  However, I remember reading another posting a while back about someone who had your same problem with an earlier upgrade and lost Password Keeper and the information they had stored there.  The thread and the solution provided to their problem can be found on this forum under the name "Password Keeper Missing in OS 6."  I don't know whether it would work for you but I offer it as a starting point at least for a possible solution.  You may want to check it out.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lou1960

Thanks very much!  I'll take a look.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lou1960

OK, I did the full re-install, and then went to an earlier backup.  The Password Keeper back-up is there, but it can't be reinstalled - it says it's a "read only" file. 

I assume this means that PK no longer exists on the updated OS.  That's fine, but how do I access the data (so I can manually reenter it, or just have it!).  The file is an .ipd file and I can't open it through Windows.

Anyone know how?

Thanks for any help.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Lou1960