Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Ooredoo

Password not working with BB Desktop Software

 

Hi,

 

I've just installed BB Desktop Software in  my PC.

I connected my BB device to PC, and BB Desktop Software asked me to type the password, I did it, but it won't work.  

 

The p/word itself is working for my BB device.

 

Why the same password not accepted by BB Desktop Software??  

 

Please help.

 

Thank you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: carphone warehouse

Re: Password not working with BB Desktop Software

ive had the same problem and i normally type the password in to my phone first and it seems to work after that. However at the moment i have white screen so cant even do that!

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,825
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Password not working with BB Desktop Software


winale wrote:

 

Hi,

 

I've just installed BB Desktop Software in  my PC.

I connected my BB device to PC, and BB Desktop Software asked me to type the password, I did it, but it won't work.  

 

The p/word itself is working for my BB device.

 

Why the same password not accepted by BB Desktop Software??  

 

Please help.

 

Thank you.

 

 

 

 

 

 


Hi and Welcome to the Community!

The password prompted for by the Desktop Software and the password you assigned to lock your BB are indeed the same password. But, what I suspect is that you've got a mixture of different characters in your device password, and perhaps have not noticed how you must enter those on the BB keyboard. For instance, if your password is

  • ab123

and you enter

  • a > b > ALT > 1 > 2 > 3

the actual result will be

  • ab1er

You must enter

  • a > b > ALT > 1 > ALT > 2 > ALT > 3

in order to wind up with ab123. So, in this example, while on the BB keyboard you think you are typing ab123, you are actually typing ab1er.

On your BB, when you type your password, you should get just a moment where each character is shown in the clear before it changes to an *. Watch closely the next time and you may see a surprising result. It will be those exact characters that you must type on your PC keyboard as that's actually your password.

Good luck!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
My Device: bold 9780
My Carrier: carphone warehouse

Re: Password not working with BB Desktop Software

my problem was the other way around, i set up my password on the bb and imagined it as a numeric password. Same logic applies in reverse though, i input this as the respective alpha characters on the desktop and its all fine! Many thanks
Hall of Famer II
Posts: 51,825
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Password not working with BB Desktop Software


martinoram wrote:
my problem was the other way around, i set up my password on the bb and imagined it as a numeric password. Same logic applies in reverse though, i input this as the respective alpha characters on the desktop and its all fine! Many thanks

I'm glad the same logic worked for your situation. You are most welcome...enjoy!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2013
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Ooredoo

Re: Password not working with BB Desktop Software

All ..

 

Thank you so much for your respond to this thread. 

 

The other way I have solved my password problem is disable temporarily using password in BB, then connect device to PC.  No password required by BB Desktop Software.

 

Regards,