Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9000
My Carrier: Globe Tel
Accepted Solution

Re: Introduction

hey guys. i'm a newbie blackberry bold owner.

i have a problem registering my BB. i'm using a prepaid sim card by the way. i've tried, many times, everything the user's starting guide tells me to regarding registering my device. and i can't create an email because the option "create a personal email" is absent in my BB. can you please tell me which thread i should go to for help? thank you :smileywink:

Hall of Famer II
My Device: Z30/Z10/Q10 (10.3.1.2744), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Hi!

The selection to create a personal email is contingent upon having The BlackBerry Data Plan on your account...if you don't have it, you don't get data-related options (of which email is). You should check with whoever sold you the prepaid SIM and ensure that it includes The BlackBerry Data Plan (note...not a generic data plan, The BlackBerry Data Plan). If it is indeed included, then try these things:

1) Register your HRT. From the Homescreen:

• Options > Advanced Options > Host Routing Table > BBKey (it does not matter which, if any, line item is selected) > Register Now

You should receive a confirmation message.

2) Resend your service Books:

• KB02830 Send the service books for the BlackBerry Internet Service

If those things don't work, return to the beginning because you probably don't have The BlackBerry Data Plan...

Good luck and let us know!

Cheers!

PS -- since you have a bold, this is a good forum...there are other possibilities, but this is fine. Cheers!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!