Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
9790user
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Orange

Software update stuck at 'Reconnecting to JVM' - please help!

Hi. I plugged my 9790 into my PC to sync with desktop manager and was offered a software upgrade first. Desktop Manager loaded new software ok. The Device Software update started and the back up went fine. Software seemed to download ok but is now stuck during the install at 'Reconnecting to JVM'. It has been like this for hours. The screen of the 9790 shows the clock although a reminder message came up which I cancelled - now back to the clock. The text in the update window says that the device must not be disconnected during the update process as it might render it unusable.

I am a complete novice at this. Please can someone help? Thanks.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
9790user
My Device: Bold 9790
My Carrier: Orange

Re: Software update stuck at 'Reconnecting to JVM' - please help!

Sorry, should have said the current software version is 7.0 bundle 2487 and the update is 7.1 version 2039.

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Hello,

Hopefully you already have this resolved...if not, please post back as there are some tricks that we can provide.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!