Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
Davdawz44
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
Accepted Solution

Speed Dial List

Some speed dial letters came preassigned with certain functions. IE the "A" key is assigned to lock the system. I'm trying to move, edit or delete the preassigned functions but I'm unable to do so. Does anyone know how to change this so I can assign the keys to suit my needs?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 80,476
Likes: 22,311
Solutions: 5,747
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Speed Dial List

That one cannot be changed. I believe that and the 1/W key are the only ones pre-assigned.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Speed Dial List

There are three keys pre assigned

A- Lock System

Q- Change profile to Vibrate Only

W- Voicemail

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 80,476
Likes: 22,311
Solutions: 5,747
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Speed Dial List

AHA, you are correct sir!




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Onslaughtx
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2008

Re: Speed Dial List

[ Edited ]

I've been able to re-assign all my keys on my bold.. Im not sure why you guys put solved.. I guess as in you couldn't do it?! It is pretty tricky though..

Follow this:

 

1. Press the green phone button left of the blackberry sign button.

2. Press the blackberry button.

3. Scroll to View Speed Dial List.

4. (From here you should be able to see all the contacts you've assigned letters to) Go to "A" and press the enter button.

5. Choose a contact and press enter. 

6. Finished.


I have no idea how to put it back to default...I haven't tried but I don't have any friends with names that start with Q...

 

You can re-assign W but I would suggest putting your voicemail as a contact number.

 

Word!

 

Hope this helps -Please post if it does. Cuz if doesn't my phone is uber special!

Message Edited by Onslaughtx on 01-16-2009 08:27 PM
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Speed Dial List

Good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Kudos to you.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Speed Dial List

For sure, when you reset the device the keys changes automatically to the pre-assigned keys.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Davdawz44
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-16-2009

Re: Speed Dial List

I tried to change my spped dial list as you recommend. After step 3 I get to the speed dial list. When I press the enter key as you suggest in step 4 I get only 4 choices;"Help", "Lock System", "Switch Application" or "Close". I still cannot change or edit the preset "A" key.
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008

Re: Speed Dial List

Don't worry, the solution provided here works only until you reset the device, after you reset the device the pre assigned key come back.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Onslaughtx
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2008

Re: Speed Dial List

[ Edited ]

Not sure why u yours won't show the names...perhaps u need to update your firmware?

 

So about the reset... this is when you take out the battery and let it sit there for a couple of minutes correct?

Must because I did that and my pre-assigned keys do return. But turning it off in the menu either just normally or full power off... the keys still stick. To me this is still useful as I dont reset my Blackberry... almost never?

 

Cheers

Message Edited by Onslaughtx on 01-18-2009 03:53 PM
Please use plain text.