Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
Contributor
vigorito
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
My Device: tmobile 9900
My Carrier: simple mobile

Trackpad wont work properly

[ Edited ]

tmobile bold 9900

7.1 bundle 998

using it on simple mobile

 

trackpad just wont work well only work when i press it,horizontal,vertical left and right dont work at all,i try reset the phone,wipe,pull battery 50 times and only after 5-6 pulling the battery trackpad start to work but only for maximum 10 minutes and then again i need to touch screen in order to use left right hor or ver,phone was never dropped,never had a water damage only work when i press is down,phone is several weeks old only,also i did a clean os instal 7.1 didnt work again and also tried downgrade to 7.0 same situation,phone is tmobile but i dont have account on tmobile can anyone help me to solve this or should i call rim and ask for warranty 

thanks

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,068
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Given what you describe, this process might be useful:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.


vigorito wrote:

phone is tmobile but i dont have account on tmobile can anyone help me to solve this or should i call rim and ask for warranty


You can't. RIM provides zero front line support to end users, including warranty...all support starts with the carriers, authorized resellers, and authorized service centers, all who can escalate cases into RIM at no charge to the end user.

So, your warranty support path is not direct to RIM. Rather, it is through your place of purchase...whoever that was. You have no free path by which to bypass them, even for warranty-level issues. Warranty service is always provided by the "next-up" in the chain of purchase...whoever you purchased from is responsible for servicing your warranty. If they were not an authorized reseller, then you may well have no warranty at all. Such is the danger of the "grey market".

There is something called incident support, but it costs to just ask the initial question, since you are bypassing the contract you signed upon purchase. If you wish to investigate that, you can review it here:

There also might be some good reading here:

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
vigorito
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
My Device: tmobile 9900
My Carrier: simple mobile

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

thx for replly,so the way you describe reloding the OS and the way trought desktop manager is not the same think?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,068
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

"trought"??? Sorry, I didn't quite understand that.

You said up top that you already did a clean OS reload, so I assume you already know how to load the OS. The process I gave you should be able to use exactly what you already know, just installing fewer things when you load the OS. Please re-read the steps I provided, and I'm sure you'll understand. If you don't, please be very specific about what you do not understand.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
vigorito
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
My Device: tmobile 9900
My Carrier: simple mobile

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

[ Edited ]

your post describing reloding the OS in this way http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Device-software-for-BlackBerry/How-To-Reload-Your-Operating-S...

 

is that way is the same like i connect bold to pc ,open desktop manager and update it ? because according to the all manuels reloding the os i cant find app loader.exe in rim folder 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,068
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

No, the methods are very different.

The method in the post you linked (which, btw, belongs to Krypto...not me) will target the installation (via LOADER.EXE) to your BB of the specific BB OS package that has been installed to your PC.

Just running the Desktop Software and selecting update is completely different, as it will only use the OS packages that your specific carrier supports, and does not allow you to target a specific OS package to install to your PC. (Unless you do a different trick with that where you have also installed to your PC the specific BB OS package you desire to use.)

It is actually the first method that you need to use in order to execute the steps I gave you above...for after all, those steps have in them the need to change between different OS levels in order to root out the cause of your issues, and the method of just running the Desktop Software has no ability to accomplish this.

Perhaps we should go back to the beginning...exactly how did you accomplish the "clean OS instal" (sic) that you mentioned in your first post? That perhaps is what is confusing me, leading me to believe you understand already how to do these things when in fact you perhaps do not? If you do not, then I will need to be more explicit in my instructions to you...

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
vigorito
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
My Device: tmobile 9900
My Carrier: simple mobile

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

all updating was from dektop manager i was thinking clean install is from desktop manager,

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,068
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

Nope...OK...so toss away everything above and start over with this.


At the top of each device forum, there should be some "sticky" threads that discuss the OS levels available for many models. If they include your model, then please use those as reference as you proceed. Otherwise, you will have to dig through the official download portal for OS packages for your model:

From a PC, you can install any compatible (e.g., for your exact BB Model Number) OS package to a BB via this procedure:

Note that while written for "reload" and the Storm, it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload any BB device model -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. If that OS package is from a carrier other than the carrier for which your BB was originally manufactured, then delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.


You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.


You may also want to try this procedure to perhaps narrow down the precise causal item:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.


If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
vigorito
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎01-06-2013
My Device: tmobile 9900
My Carrier: simple mobile

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

i went to tmobile site and download and install the latest software via desktop manager trackpad work now in all directions but very bad and i know it will stop to work again while im typyng this
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,068
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Trackpad wont work properly

Hence the reason for what I've already suggested to you...please tell me that you actually are reading what I provide?????

I've suggested a very detailed and rigorous process to try and root out if the OS, an app, or your BB itself is the root cause. But, if you decide to not follow the process, then I don't know how to help you.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.