Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
berryfish
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: t-mobile germany

Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

I just got my new Bold 9780 which replaces my Curve 8900, that I loved so much. While typing an text-message I wrote "E." to cut the first name of someone and by doing so, the system replaces the "E" by the following characters, which appears to be a system code or so: "\u00E4htl erh\u00E4lt".

 

In addition to that, the display freezes for a few second and after that, while scrolling, the lines I wrote before got mixed up. Funny thing, so far. The effect occurs in all applications, i.e. SMS, eMail, Calendar, Notes etc..

Please use plain text.
Elite II
BillJ
Posts: 8,770
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z30
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

What you need to do is get all your friends whose names begin with "E" to change them to

"\u00E4htl erh\u00E4lt".  If they're true friends, this shouldn't be a problem.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Actually, just remove your battery while the phone is powered on then replace it a minute later.  This is a quick-fix solution that may or may not work.  Give 'er a try.....if it does nothing, get back to us.)


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



Please use plain text.
New Member
dimitryparisi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

i'm experiencing the same problem, the battery pull didn't work for me (and it's really annoying).

Anybody know why this happens (it didn't on my 9700) an more importantly how to solve it/turn it off?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
berryfish
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2011
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: t-mobile germany

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

Thanks for the advice. It just doesn´t work. I tried it already before posting. The best thing to do is just wait for the next firmware update. Regards
Please use plain text.
New Member
eliasscheidegger
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Torch 9800

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

Try:

 

http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search?q=cache:r3NER-Q7oZQJ:mrsberry.de/4847/tipp-wortersetzun...

 

It's in German, but with pictures. With that, you can remove ("delete") the automatical replacement "e"-> "\u00E4htl erh\u00E4lt". 

 

Cheers!

Elias

Please use plain text.
New Member
jerauk
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9800
My Carrier: tim

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

HI,

i have done that, but did not work, any other suggestion?
Please use plain text.
New Member
eliasscheidegger
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-20-2011
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Torch 9800

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

after each booting (e. g.: taking out the accu -> restart -> need to do it again): 

 

- icon "screw-wrench"

- icon "A/BCD"

- type: "e"

- Blackberry-Key (left)

- choose: "delete" with the Blackberry itself (center)

 

-> try again, dear jerauk!

 

Elias

 

 

Please use plain text.
New Member
Tamara-Tom-Tom
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-26-2013
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: TIM

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

Hi,

I also had this problem. I am Italian so I use the phone with the "Italian" language. Taping a message I probably did something accidentaly to set the "German" language. To solve the problem I had only to go into the applications and set once more the Italian language.

I hope this will help you !

Please use plain text.
New Member
lilly_212
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-17-2013
My Device: Blackberry 9900
My Carrier: T-Mobile Deutschland

Re: Typing "E." or "E " generates system commands

I recently got my Blackberry and encountered the same problem, I fixed my issue.... Try this:

Go into Options » Typing and Language » Word Substitution
Then either change it to e or delete it all together.
Please use plain text.