Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

New Contributor
KenBowker
My Device: BOLD 9780
My Carrier: MTN Zambia

Unable to open email set-up application-Contact your wireless service provider

[ Edited ]

My Blackberry information: My device: BOLD 9780, Carrier: MTN Zambia; OS release 6.0.0.294. i have a BIS monthly subscription paid for.

I am unable to set up my Gmail email account or surf the internet.

I bought my phone in the UK and subscribed to BB via T-Mobile successfully setting up my Gmail email. within a few weeks I left the UK for Zambia. I contacted T-mobile to de-register my BB, and in fact my T-mobile subscription subsequently expired as well. Since then, MTN Zambia have not been able to activate my email. When I turn off the WIFI i cannot access the internet either. I get the error report: "browsing over the cellular network is not included as part of your current service plan...." All other services (SMS, Phone calls, WIFI) appear to work well. I have tried the following:

1. Options>network connections>menu>diagnostics test> report indicated phone is registered and all report lines indicate successful connection.

2. Setup>email accounts: only option given is for enterprise account where previously it offered internet email setup.

3. Messages>menu>options>email account management: gives error "unable to open email set-up application. contact your wireless server provider"-unfortunately I have visited MTN Zambia in person and they have not been able to assist. They advised T-mobile should unregister the previous subscription which i believe was done, because I received a new email from BB entitled "RIM_bca28a80-e9c0-11d1-87fe-00600811c6a2", but I have no way of getting this set-up data off my laptop and onto my BB.