Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
brunostyle
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
My Device: Bold 9930
Accepted Solution

Upgraded Device Software, Will Not Boot (Bold 9930)

Bold 9930, Verizon,

Everything was fine 5 hours ago. Was backing up and synching with Desktop Manager, and all was good. I clicked on the "Upgrade Device" link. It first made me download and install new Desktop Manager software. That seemed to work fine. Then it downloaded new device software, and proceeeded to upgrade the device.

7.1 Bundle, 2705 (v7.1.0.991 Platform 5.1.0.678)

 

The install program shows that the new software was installed, and then it seems to want to reboot the device. The device never comes back, ends with an App Error 606.

I have loaded fresh device software, no change. Deleted the Desktop Software, loaded that fresh, then loaded fresh device software, no change.

I tried to load my old device software but the Desktop Manager won't allow it.

I have reloaded device software 3 times, always the same behavior, always the same error at the end.

 

I am out of ideas.

 

Any help?

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,530
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Upgraded Device Software, Will Not Boot (Bold 9930)

Hi and Welcome to the Community!


brunostyle wrote:

I tried to load my old device software but the Desktop Manager won't allow it.



That bit is quite unusual...done properly, you can force any OS package onto your BB as long as it's for your exact model number. So I'm not quite sure if you are truly using all the right tricks...so, even though a lot of this will be redundant, please review it carefully for subtle tricks to accomplish what you need...done correctly, this can cure the situation. But, any mistake along the way (e.g., skipped step, step not fully done properly, etc.) invalidates the entire process, and results in the automatic process taking over and restricting you to only those OS packages presently supported by your specific carrier.

 

The simplest way is to, on a PC (you cannot do this on MAC):

1) Make sure you have a current and complete backup of your BB...you can find complete instructions via the link in my auto-sig below.

2) Uninstall, from your PC, any BB OS packages

3) Make sure you have the BB Desktop Software already installed

4) Download and install, to your PC, the BB OS package you desire:

  • http://us.blackberry.com/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp
  • It is sorted first by carrier -- so if all you want are the OS levels your carrier supports, your search will be quick. However, some carriers are much slower than others to release updates. To truly seek out the most up-to-date OS package for your BB, you must dig through and find all carriers that support your specific model BB, and then compare the OS levels that they support.

5) Delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

6a) For changing your installed BB OS level (upgrade or downgrade), you can launch the Desktop Software and connect your BB...the software should offer you the OS package you installed to your PC.

6b) Or, for reloading your currently installed BB OS level as well as for changing it, bypass the Desktop Software and use LOADER.EXE directly, by proceeding to step 2 in this process:

If, during the processes of 6a or 6b, your BB presents a "507" error, simply unplug the USB cord from the BB and re-insert it...don't do anything else...this should allow the install to continue.



You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.



You may also want to try the "Bare Bones OS Reload Procedure" to attempt to narrow down the precise causal item:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.



You may also need the use of these tricks:



If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
brunostyle
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
My Device: Bold 9930

Re: Upgraded Device Software, Will Not Boot (Bold 9930)

Thanks for the quick response.

I'll work methodiclaly again from top to bottom.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
brunostyle
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
My Device: Bold 9930

Re: Upgraded Device Software, Will Not Boot (Bold 9930)

OK, the issue is resolved, I got a good software load onto my device. This happened on the 4th attempt, and I can't define what might have caused this attempt to work and previous attempts to fail.

Thanks for reading and offering some good suggestions.

 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,530
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Upgraded Device Software, Will Not Boot (Bold 9930)

I'm glad you got back into a working condition. It is a pity you could not identify the "why" of it...for that could help you in the future. But, nevertheless, at least you are working again.

You are most welcome, and Cheers!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.