Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2013
My Device: blackberry 9900
My Carrier: none

can i get my phone to work in canada?

so the thing is i bought a phone from nigeria and it was working really fine. but when i got to canada it stopped working. i have tried all the service providers and none of their sim cards worked on the phone. so please i need help on this. i really need this phone to work.

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 53,088
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.840), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Any BB can be used on any carrier that runs the same radio frequencies that the BB is capable of (and I've no idea if your's are such). But, to bring a BB onto a carrier network that they did not sell to you, there are several hurdles to cross:

1) The carrier must say "yes" to the fact...they own their network and have every right to say what devices will be allowed to connect to it. If they say "no", then that's the end of it.

2) You must be sure that your BB is properly unlocked from it's originally manufactured-for carrier...see this helpful thread for details:

3) You must get all of your voice level services functioning on the carrier, before you even try anything about data

4) You must subscribe, from the carrier, to an adequate data plan to enable the BB-proprietary services you desire

5a) If the carrier directly supports your specific model BB, then you can proceed with registering the BB onto their network, generating the proper Service Book delivery to your BB, and proceeding to function.

5b) But, if the carrier does not directly support your specific model number of BB, then the challenges are much greater as most carrier systems will not deliver, to the BB, the necessary service books to enable the BB-proprietary data services, even if you do subscribe to them.

So, depending on all of that, your BB may or may not ever fully function on that carrier network. It can be quite tricky to accomplish, especially if 5b applies. So take a look at all of that and decide how you wish to proceed. Most folks wind up just buying a new BB if 5b applies.

Good luck and let us know!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2013
My Device: blackberry 9900
My Carrier: none

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

Okay thanks.. is there any way to ping via wi-fi ?

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 53,088
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.840), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

Possibly, depending on a whole lot of other circumstances...but that would be an IP-specific thing, nothing whatsoever to do with service from a carrier.

The basic first step for you is to be sure you've properly unlocked your BB from it's original carrier (step 2 above)...if not, then trying anything else is pointless.



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2013
My Device: blackberry 9900
My Carrier: none

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

yes the phone is properly unlocked.

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 53,088
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.840), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

Then you need to do the pre-amble plus step 1 above...make sure that the radio frequencies your BB is capable of are compatible with the carrier(s) you attempt to use, and also seek their approval to even make the attempt.

Also...what exactly happens when you insert their SIM? Any messages? Errors? Anything at all?

Also, you might want to do a device WIPE and then try booting up with their SIM.

Good luck!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2013
My Device: blackberry 9900
My Carrier: none

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

it says SOS everytime i put a sim in

 

Hall of Famer II
Posts: 53,088
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.840), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

Here is a KB with some possible troubleshooting ideas for you:

  • KB03448 Network status indicator shows "SOS" on the BlackBerry smartphone

But, have you checked out the very first thing yet? If your BB is not capable of the proper radio frequencies and such that the carrier you are attempting uses, then nothing else will matter. There is no mobile device from anyone that can function on ALL carriers world wide...there just are too many differences in those things that the physical mobile device would have to be huge in order to have inside of it all of the necessary radios.

 

So, if the above KB doesn't provide you with anything, then I very much encourage you to talk with the carriers and ensure that your specific device is indeed compatible with their network.

 

Good luck!




Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-31-2013
My Device: blackberry 9900
My Carrier: none

Re: can i get my phone to work in canada?

okay thank you very much... would try these steps