Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
Contributor
linux01
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
My Device: Bold 9000 Voda
Accepted Solution

change apn depending on browser?

dear all, is it possible to change apn on our bold 9000 depending on browser? I mean, for example, setting apn.blackberry.net depending by bb normal preinstalled browser and apn.XXXX.net depending by opera mini. 

Thanks! Paul 

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Bifocals
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: change apn depending on browser?

Hi and welcome to the forums!

I have yet to have the need to chang the tcip or apn settings to successfully browse.

Do you have a specialty application, or a site you need help with?

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: change apn depending on browser?

To change the apn, go to menu, options, advanced options, APN
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
linux01
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
My Device: Bold 9000 Voda

Re: change apn depending on browser?

The problem is that with my bold data plan I can browse, through apn.blackerry.net, only some applications (staff like messengers, chats and so on). I would start to surf over the internet with another browser (like opera mini), set with a second apn (but not blackberry.net). Is it possible?

Thanks for help  

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: change apn depending on browser?

Yes, if you have the blackberry data plan you can change the apn to use MiniOpera, but i have one answer, why you want to browse with MIniOpera?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
linux01
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
My Device: Bold 9000 Voda

Re: change apn depending on browser?

I say OperaMini just for example, cause I don't know other browser for bold... My idea, but I'm not able to do this, is to surf with bold preinstalled browser through bb data plan and when I want to surf just with wifi, to start the second browser! 
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: change apn depending on browser?

Yes, linux, i can understand youur point, but my point is if you have the unlimited blackberry data plan, why you want to change to MiniOpera?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
linux01
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎01-16-2009
My Device: Bold 9000 Voda

Re: change apn depending on browser?

It is cause my data plan is noto really unlimited: I can surf only using some applications and I'm not aloud to browse every website I need. So, I'd like to start a second browser, like OperaMini or another one, and surf over the internet free of constraints through wifi connections. Have you suggestions how to do that?

Thanks again!

Linux 

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
nwest33
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: change apn depending on browser?

I am limited as well depending on browser. Doesn't make sense to me.  I want to use one browser no matter if I'm on WIFI or the data network.

 

Opera Mini is faster and sometimes easier to use, just a fyi

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Bifocals
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: change apn depending on browser?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

You have an data plan and want to use wifi as well, OK your choice,

You want to use Operamini and sometimes the default BB browser, same deal.

Tell me though, what added function do you see your self receiving from the setup?

Maybe that would help us to help you.

 

Wifi is a pain to deal with, it will not slip seamlessly between Wifi and data plan.

and as you have been asking you have to have special configurations for the WIFI.

The only thing that I remember is if you are on EDGE and slip to UMA it will allow,

IF you are correctly setup and IF your network allows.

On top of which you have to maintain separate bookmarks, sync them etc.

 

I have quite satisfactory results using the dataplan, and a combination of the

blackberry browser in different emulations when needed, and Operamini for isolated cases.

So please let us know,

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Message Edited by Bifocals on 02-12-2009 06:30 PM
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Please use plain text.