Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
New Contributor
elishaf
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

desktop

Hi,

 

I am brand New to Blackberry - Can't figure out how to add contacts on the Desktop. I am familiar with the palm desktop and ssume there is a blackberry equivalent. Yes?

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran III
urumilton
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: desktop

if you are syncing the desktop software withg Outlook, add the contact in Outlook, and when you sync the blackberry you are sync the contacts too.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
elishaf
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: desktop

Thanks for the reply.  I don't have Outlook.  I have been using  a Palm Treo with the Palm desktop.  First, I wanted to see a Blackberry desktop into which I could put contacts.  Does Blackberry not have its own desktop?
Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
freakinvibe
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Q10

Re: desktop

There is a "Blackberry Desktop Manager", but you can't store contacts in this program. It is not comparable to the "Palm Desktop". The Blackberry Desktop Manager is used to backup/restore the device, configure redirection, update the firmware and other stuff.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
elishaf
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: desktop

Thanks.  I see.  Do you know if it will work with Mozilla Thunderbird or just with MS Outlook?
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
elishaf
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: desktop

Can you tell me how I do Kudos?

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Advisor I
freakinvibe
Posts: 691
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Q10

Re: desktop

For Kudos, just press the Kudo icon to the right of the post.

 

Thunderbird doesn't work with the BB Desktop Manager, as far as I know, see:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB14730&sliceId=SAL_Pub...

 

Please use plain text.