Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
Contributor
MoonlitMystery
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
My Device: Bold
Accepted Solution

should i replace my bold for a new one?

so in my first post i had mentioned that i had some errors pop up when i tried a recommendation (reboot phone by taking out battery while phone is still on). the errors were indeed java script errors...although i cannot remember exact errors.

 

that along with my phone freezing up at times (eg. on random occasions, phone won't catch reception after i move into a good area until after i have turned phone off & then back on again)

 

also sound quality is poor at times, when other times it's excellent.

 

random things not working here and there... had to reset google sync & delete entire blackberry calendar because my bold stopped syncing from bb to google calendar etc

 

given all this and the fact that the phone is less than two weeks old, should i ask for a new replacement?

 

i'd appreciate some input.

 

Mahalo,

Jamie

 

 

 

Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

I would definitely ask for the replacement.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 98
Registered: ‎01-30-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

Firstly back up all your contacts and then try a complete reinstall and make sure that you are updated with the lastest o.s.

 

If that doesn't work and you are still having the problems then yes, i think that it should be returned to your service provider.

If i help solve your problem, Click that button to the right of the screen.

Thank you very much.

Rob
Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

You should consider changing your device without making any delay.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

Contributor
MoonlitMystery
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

ok i am backing up with the blackberry desktop. will that back up all my contacts? i definitely cant lose all those...
Contributor
MoonlitMystery
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

oh...thought of more backup questions

 

i know these may seem like silly Qs but will the bb desktop also back up my personal ringtones, videos, & pics?

Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

Make selective backup

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=8100&message.id=15956#M15956

 

Refer to this article  to realize what databases you need to backup.

Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

[ Edited ]

There are two types of memory on the device.

 

External (micro sd card) can be observerd from desktop computer and Internal which cannot be observed from desktop computer (except for Storm devices).

 

You can observe your device memory contents via instruction:

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=BlackBerryDesktopSoftware&view=by_dat...

 

Navigate folders and transfer all your pictures/videos/ringtones/music from internal memory to the external memory. And after that access them from your desktop computer.

Message Edited by tbilisoft on 03-06-2009 11:36 AM
Contributor
MoonlitMystery
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎05-28-2009
My Device: Bold

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

i did the selective back up...so how do i do a complete reinstall? and how to i make sure i have the latest OS?

i will go to ATT store tomorrow anyway. but i do wanna try it.

if/when i get a new bold, i will be able to upload my back up right????

Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: should i replace my bold for a new one?

Yes, if you get a new Bold you can restore information from *.ipd file.

 

Just make sure that you have saved information via selective backup, not full backup.

 

You can try to update device software online.

 

Connect your device via USB cable to the desktop computer.

 

Launch Internet Explorer.

 

Open this address: http://na.blackberry.com/eng/services/devices/

 

And click on "Update Now" button on the webpage.