Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Bold™

Reply
Super Contributor
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook; z10 & Love it!
My Carrier: Bell
Accepted Solution

wipe bold 9900

Hi:

 

I'd like to get my Bold 9900 unlocked, then give it to my son so he can hook it up somewhere cheap.  Is there some sort of a security wipe I should do to it first? 

 

Thanks!

Developer
Posts: 1,163
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: wipe bold 9900

Option> Security> Security Wipe
Super Contributor
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook; z10 & Love it!
My Carrier: Bell

Re: wipe bold 9900

Geez, that is SO easy to find I had no idea lol. I thought it would be some long process.

Waiting for it to restart but I think it worked!

Thanks!
Developer
Posts: 1,163
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: wipe bold 9900

Yup, but be patience on the wiping process it might take a while.
Super Contributor
Posts: 365
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
My Device: Playbook; z10 & Love it!
My Carrier: Bell

Re: wipe bold 9900

It's done. Finished just after I made my last post
Highlighted
Developer
Posts: 1,163
Registered: ‎03-24-2011
My Device: Passport/Z30//Q10/ Z10 / 9900 / PlayBook / 9700 / 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: wipe bold 9900

Thumbs Up