Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

8320 GPS

I am new to the blackberry so I hope I do not seem made with this question.
I would like to use my maps facility but it appears that the GPS is not working. Under options I have looked at the GPS setting and it says Data Source - None with no option to select anything else. I was under the impression that the 8320 has its own GPS device and does not require an external source, am I wrong?
As far as I am aware my service provider has supplied all of the service books to make everything work (all internet and mail etc)
Any help would be greatly received
Contributor

Re: 8320 GPS

I have learned (Using Support within T-Mobile web site) that GPS is not supported by (T-Mobile) and a GPS "puck" is required to fully use GPS satellite technology.

From T-Mobile "Support" web site (verbatim): "The handheld does not contain an embedded GPS radio. In order to use GPS mapping on the handheld, you need to obtain a separate GPS puck and connect it to your BlackBerry via Bluetooth®." 

Of course, this requires buying the Bluetooth GPS puck. Also, I can only speak for T-Mobile, my carrier/provider.

Hope this helps! 

Hi,

I own a 8320 too (Provider is Orange) and can confirm that this model (in the UK at Least) does not have an integral GPS receiver. However, you don't have to buy a blackberry branded receiver, any GPS receiver with a Bluetooth function should work. I already had a receiver that came with TOM TOM software for a Palm T3 PDA, that worked fine.