Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

New Contributor
gdiza
My Device: Blackberry 9360
Accepted Solution

9360 Missing 2G ONLY Option!!!

Hi guys,

First off, this is my first post on the forums, so hi to everyone!

Secondly, I tried to do a search to see if maybe someone else hasn't posted this before - can't seem to find it.

My issue is as follows;

I recently upgraded to a BB 9360 and am with Vodacom in South Africa.

First thing I did upon receiving the phone was set it up nicely and then WANT to change the Mobile Network options for Network mode from 3G to 2G only but alas, the only options open to me are 3G & 2G or 3G.

What happened to the option for 2G Only ?!?

Now, I'm a paramedic in South Africa and my 9780 Bold's battery lasts an entire shift (12 hours!) but that's with the 2G ONLY option.

So obviously I'd like to have this feature back on my 9360!!!

I can't afford to go out and buy new batteries!

I've done a bit of Googling and found that the option WAS available at some point, but then removed in the latest version which I think my phone is running: 7.1 Bundle 2039 (v7.1.0.714, Platform 9.6.0.111)

Guide me on how to get the 2G option back ASAP please!

I don't expect to hear the "network dependant" excuse because Vodacom have told me it's a Blackberry problem.

Thanks!

Elite II
prince2012
My Device: Curve

Re: 9360 Missing 2G ONLY Option!!!

Hi gdiza

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Community  Forums

With the recent Updated OS that 3g to 2g has been replaced  as 3G OR  3G & 2G. You can set to the one as you desire , But if you don't want this options then I think the only way possible is to downgrade to the previous bundle in which you are getting that options.And for that you had to recall that previous bundle which allowed that Option.

Prince