If you are using Internet Explorer, please remove blackberry.com from your compatibility view settings.

Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

New Contributor
marke2105
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: O2

BB Newbie needs answers!!!

Evenin all,

Just been to the O2 shop today and picked up a BlackBerry Curve 8520. I'm totally new to Blackberry and have a few questions regarding Wi-Fi, basically Im on a simplicity contract with O2 and dont have any mobile internet bolt ons, but speaking with the girl in the shop she said I would be able to connect to wifi at home and have access to email and the internet. When I got home I launched the wifi setup, scanned for my router and found it entered the key and thought I had connected. However when I checked the connections wifi has a white dash beside it and when I try and get on the browser it tells me it is unable to connect.

Im thinkin that maybe I need some settings from O2 (MMS or such) but Ive tried that from the handset and it says unforuntately it cannot do it.

Anyone had similar problems or is it impossible to get on home wifi without and internet plan?

Please could someone point me in the right direction,

Regards

Mark :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gociro
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: BB Newbie needs answers!!!

Hi Mark,

First you have to enter the Browser, then search for options.

When you're in options click on the one that says browser configuration and on "browser" select hotspot browser.

The same in General properties.

If you don't have a data plan you can use wifi.

Regards!
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran I
stevels400
My Device: Curve 8520 OS v5.0.0.681
My Carrier: Orange UK

Hi

The girl in the shop would say that wouldn't she?