Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
Contributor
lrn2fight
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry curve 9320
My Carrier: Lebara

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

i've reloaded it all, it didnt give an error message. but still my blackberry isnt working good..   my blackberry has two states: everything works besides that the trackpad only moves on certain options (so when i want to change language it can move but when i just want to scroll like at accepting licentesie or something it doesnt, but only clicks) or NOTHING works besides the red button..

 

what now..?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,288
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

Now it gets even trickier. Please now re-read again post 9 above. The section that ends with red/bold text...that multi-step iterative process can narrow down further the likely causes of your issues. It is a very tedious process and could take many hours/days/weeks to fully conduct. But now that you have the OS reload process down, you can be quicker about it each time I think.

Remember that I said this is a deductive process (I'm sure I've said that...but am not going to dig through our 51 posts to find it)...trying different things to rule in/out various possible causes, until what is left is the only likely cause? If your problem is truly hardware, there's no way we can diagnose that at an internet-distance. All we can do is eliminate other causes until all that is left is the hardware...but we can't at an internet distance, actually diagnose a hardware problem, for that requires hands-on by a qualified hardware technician.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
lrn2fight
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry curve 9320
My Carrier: Lebara

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

You mean this right?:

 


You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.


You may also want to try this procedure to perhaps narrow down the precise causal item:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.

 

what does barebones mean? what other os should i try? i'm really confused and i'm just 16 and my english isn't that great as you might have noticed..

 

and i don't get step four, what does it mean..?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,288
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..


lrn2fight wrote:

You mean this right?:

 


You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.


 


BBSAK is a utility that can perform a more stringent WIPE of a BB than other tools. Sometimes, doing that can help some problems. You use it to WIPE the BB, which will result in a 507 on the device, and then use the same LOADER.EXE tool to reload the OS to the BB.


lrn2fight wrote:

 

what does barebones mean?


When you ran the LOADER.EXE tool, there would have been a screen where you could select various components of the OS to be loaded. The first line(s) would have been the core OS itself, and you would not have been able to affect the tic boxes about those. But the rest of the line items (languages, AppWorld, BBM, etc. etc. etc.) should have allowed you to affect those tic boxes. You make sure that any tic boxes you can affect are not ticked...so that you are only loading to the BB the bare minimum that is allowed...anything you can control, leave off.


lrn2fight wrote:

what other os should i try?


If doing the bare minimum on Step 1 results in your BB still having problems, then you abandon that OS package and try a different one. You obtain that different one the same way you did the one you are trying...by digging through the download portal, checking each carrier to see if they support your specific BB model, and then seeing what OS packages they support, and choosing one to try. If you really do this, I recommend you keep good records...it will become very easy to forget if you already tried something.


lrn2fight wrote:

i'm really confused and i'm just 16 and my english isn't that great as you might have noticed..

 


You are doing just fine.


lrn2fight wrote:

 

and i don't get step four, what does it mean..?


Once, via steps 1, 2, and 3, you find an OS that will, when installed "bare bones" run your BB without the problems you are having, you can then move to adding in those optional things that you left off of Step 1 back onto your BB. Many of those things are technically "optional" (you can affect that tic box), but are nevertheless necessary for any usefulness of the BB. So, you just start with the next item below in that list, after the Core OS items that you could not affect the tic boxes for. Evaluate that next item and decide if it's important for you. For example, certain languages might be important...but not likely ALL of the available languages...only install those that you need.

But, step 4 remains as it says...only add one thing. Do not go down the list ticking off all of the boxes for all the things you want. Rather, just install that next item that you have determined that you need, and after the BB reboots, see if things are still OK. If they are, then you can move to the next item.

 

What you are basically doing is doing steps 1 and 2 over and over again (using a different OS package each time) until you find a "bare bones" OS package that is stable for your BB. Then, you are doing steps 4 and 5 over and over again until the behavior either appears or does not appear even after you've added all that you need.

 

Note carefully also that everything you want may not be on that list...that list will include those items that are part of the OS package, but not those that you might have obtained via AppWorld or other sources. But, to add those (once you've completed the OS items and the device has remained stable), you simply do the same...do steps 4 and 5 over and over again, but this time using whatever the source of your other things is (AppWorld or whatever), but still doing them one at a time, so as to be sure you can know which one is the cause of your problems.

 

Lastly, as it says in red, if no matter what you do, the behavior continues, then you most likely have a hardware problem for which nothing I can recommend for you with will help...only a qualified hardware technician with the device in their hands can truly diagnose a hardware problem. All we can do is to rule out more and more other causes, until all that is left is a likely hardware issue.


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
lrn2fight
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry curve 9320
My Carrier: Lebara

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

this takes too much time.. why the hell do almost all keys work when i do a battery pull (besides scrolling) and after some seconds it all freezes again!? and now i have to do a research in my free time days long just because blackberry has these problems? i give up. 

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,288
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

Goodness...OK...swearing at me doesn't help. Good luck.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
lrn2fight
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry curve 9320
My Carrier: Lebara

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

No wait! excuse me i was just mad at my phone not at you. ok i think now everything works! i let the battery out whole night and now everything works properly! so thanks for the help but i only need one more thing to get done! .. the language, i removed all language packs and only have english now. how can i get dutch back?

Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,288
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

The same place you did the bare bones install...the application loader list of items to install.

FYI...given this new information, I predict your issue will return. Leaving the battery out for so long allowed everything to completely cool down. When it heats back up again (and expands as it does so), whatever the actual root cause is (e.g., a loose connection) may repeat. If this happens, then your issue is definitely hardware, requiring in hand evaluation by a qualified technician.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
Contributor
lrn2fight
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
My Device: Blackberry curve 9320
My Carrier: Lebara

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

well for now everything seems okay, my blackberry is heated now but still working fine. for now, this thread has come to it's end. thanks for your patience with me and have a nice day!
Please use plain text.
Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,288
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Blackberry curve 9320 problem..

You are welcome...good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.