Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
renes92
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

Hello, my Blackberry Curve 8310 switched itself to GSM about a week ago and I remember it being on the EDGE network. I am really dissapointed because I cannot send/receive MMS messages. Can someone please give me a solution so I can switch back to the EDGE network? 

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,964
Likes: 22,688
Solutions: 5,842
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

With the BlackBerry device powered ON, remove the battery a few seconds and then reinsert the battery to reboot.

 

Give it 5 minutes to reboot and settle down from all the initial data activity.

 

Does your EDGE signal return? 

 

If not, you could have a local tower issue, which do occur from time to time specific to ONE cell tower for your carrier. I know my best friend across town from me went a week with EDGE service at his hime only (travelling to another part of the city, he got EDGE) where he only had "edge" or "gprs". About 5-6 days later, he said EDGE returned to his device when at home.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
renes92
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

I already tried those steps JSanders, and it seemed to return back to GSM. I think it is my Blackberry though because my Mom just got a Blackberry Curve as well and hers says edge. So i dont know why mine just switched itself to GSM, but I was wondering if there was anyway to just switch it from the options?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,964
Likes: 22,688
Solutions: 5,842
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

No you can't switch those optons.

 

Does it only get GSM wherever you go, all over town? You may need a SIM card swap from your carrier. 

 

Who is your carrier?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
renes92
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

Yeah it does stay on GSM. And I have AT&T. I just dont understand how it was ALWAYS on EDGE and now all of a sudden it switches itself to GSM. Weirddd.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,964
Likes: 22,688
Solutions: 5,842
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

I'm telling you , try the reboot again, with the device powered ON.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
renes92
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

I tried that Jsanders, I did it twice just now. And it still returned to GSM. Would I just have to completely remove the OS 4.5 update? And switch it back to the original factory one?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,964
Likes: 22,688
Solutions: 5,842
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

Upgrading to OS 4.5 shouldn't make any difference in the EDGE or GSM signal. It might have been helpful to know that this signal difference all occurred only after you upgraded the device to 4.5.

 

But if you want to downgrade back to that and see... sure, try that. 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Member
Karina_90241
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-07-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

I am having the EXACT same problem as renes92. I've taken the battery out with the phone ON like 10 times, the SIM card out like 5 times. It's so frustrating. Please help.
Please use plain text.
New Member
juliawasni
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry curve switched to GSM, I want EDGE back.

Wow....I know how u feel, mine did the exact same thing last week too. im desperately trying to retrieve the Edge back because I cant send, recieve nor download. Its awful!

Please use plain text.