Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Member
sl65
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8900

Can i install OS 6 on 8900

hi

 

i was wondering if i can install the new os 6 on my 8900 curve

 

Regards

Please use plain text.
Contributor
RickAjani
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-30-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can i install OS 6 on 8900

OS 6 is not yet available for other devices. You might have to wait for sometime. :smileywink:

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
bladexzero
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
My Device: Curve 8900

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

However, even if OS6 was available, the 8900 doesn't have enough application memory to install OS6. It requires 512 MB and the Curve8900 only has 256 MB.

So, sorry, no you can't.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Martin_G
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

really ? so every 9xxx blackberry got 512MB ram ?

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,480
Likes: 22,612
Solutions: 5,824
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

 


Martin_G wrote:

really ? so every 9xxx blackberry got 512MB ram ?


 

Nope, not sure where got that from, but not all 9xxx have 512mb of RAM.

 

For now, no, the 8900 will not see OS 6.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
Martin_G
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

got that from the reply above and assuming all 9xxx device will support os 6

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
nsx1164
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎09-25-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

the original Bold 9000 only has 128 MB so is also not OS6 ready :smileysad:

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,377
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

there is no such official thing such as "RAM >= 512 then OS6 will be available".

it is something that can be read on the blogosphere, it may be true, but the official truth is that the OS "BlackBerry 6" will be available for the following devices and no other :

  • BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700
  • BlackBerry® Bold™ 9650
  • BlackBerry® Pearl™ 3G,
  • BlackBerry Torch 9800
  • as well as several future BlackBerry smartphones after Torch 9800 (but not all)

Existing devices like 5790, 9520 or 8900 will not be allowed to have BlackBerry6.




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Member
ragehard
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-05-2010
My Device: bb 8900 - bb9300
My Carrier: vodafone

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

Hi,

i know that bb9300 curve will support OS 6 too

Christian

Please use plain text.
BlackBerry Technical Advisor (Retired)
Cpt_Sweatpants
Posts: 3,198
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Z10

Re: Can I install OS 6 on 8900

Hi ragehard and welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums!

 

Currently, BlackBerry 6 is only available for the BlackBerry Torch, BlackBerry Style and BlackBerry 9780. Support for other devices has not been determined as of yet.

 

Keep your eyes on www.blackberry.com/blackberry6 for further updates.

 

Thanks!

 

 

-CptS

 

Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on twitter! @BlackBerryHelp

Be sure to click Kudos! for those who have helped you.

Click Solution? for posts that have solved your issue(s)!

Please use plain text.