Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

New Contributor
Frustrated_User
My Device: Curve 8320

Cannot connect BlackBerry via USB

I'm a newbie here and hoping someone can help.

I just inherited a Curve 8320 and am trying to install Desktop Manager on my Dell Inspiron laptop.

I downloaded all the software, but when I tried to install Desktop Manager, I got this message: Before you begin, verify that your current Blackberry device is connected to your computer.

Easy enough, I plug it in via the USB. The BB gets a pop-up: USB charging current is not sufficient. Verify that your handheld is connected to a powered USB charging source and that the proper USB driver is installed.

The BB is fully charged, so it's not a charging issue. I tried everything. Downloading the driver separately (get a message it's already installed), unplugging all other devices. Nothing works.  I cannot get beyond that message with Desktop Manager.

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling.. then I tried installing an earlier software version... tried six different ports and three different USB cords.  Nothing works.  I always get the message about the charging current not sufficient and the computer does not recognize the BlackBerry.

I've used all sorts of external devices - ipods, hard drives, cameras, phones - with my computer and never had a problem until now. I just can't get this BlackBerry to work.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd appreciate it.  I've been at this for hours and I'm starting to think there's an iPhone in my future.

Thanks!
Forums Advisor III
kijanasmart
My Device: 8330

Re: Cannot connect BlackBerry via USB

Welcome to the forums :smileyhappy:

Try the suggestions in this KB article: http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB10938

Cheers,

Kijana
Please remember to: