Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
y12321
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Globe

Cant understand bbm connections.

Hello,
I have been using bb curve 9300 for some time now and whenever i wanted to use the bbm, i subscribed to a monthly data plan. Reciently i changed my internet connection to a dsl connection (the one where there is a landline attatched to the modem) and now i can use bbm by connecting to a wifi that is broadcasted by my laptop. The edge remains in lower case letters but a small blackberry symbol comes under the connectivity bars right next to the wifi symbol. I want to know if i continue doing this, will i get charged on my landline? Because its very convinient to use this for bbm and whatsapp instead of subscribing for a more expensive data plan.
Thanks

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,941
Likes: 22,685
Solutions: 5,841
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cant understand bbm connections.

Without the BIS BlackBerry data plan on your mobile account, you will not be able to use BBM or WhatsApp for much longer. Your plan will expire and the service books enabling both of those applications will eventually be removed.

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
y12321
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Globe

Re: Cant understand bbm connections.

Thanks for replying. The thing is, i am not subscribed to any data plan and havent been for more than a month...it still does work.

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,941
Likes: 22,685
Solutions: 5,841
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cant understand bbm connections.

You're just lucky.

 

It won't work for much longer. You MUST have a BIS BlackBerry Data Plan.

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
y12321
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-05-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Globe

Re: Cant understand bbm connections.

hahaha i guess so...hope it lasts for more time...pity my internet provider cant answer anything about this...thanks alot

Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 82,941
Likes: 22,685
Solutions: 5,841
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Cant understand bbm connections.

You're very welcome. Good luck.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.