Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
Contributor
raymartin01
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: 9360
Accepted Solution

Changing Default Search

How do I change the default search engine on my 9360 to google.co.uk?

 

I know I have to add %s to the address somehow, but every combination I have tried just gives me an error. Could somebody tell me the correct syntax?

Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
f0xx386
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎06-10-2012
My Device: Curve 9360

Re: Changing Default Search

Hello

You need to open your browser and press the menu key ,( that's the key left of your track pad with bb logo) and go to options.

On the top left you will see "general" options.
Below this you will see:
• Startup page- set it to Home.
• In the bar under home type: www.google.co.uk
• Clicke bb menu key and click "save"

Thanks



Please use plain text.
Contributor
raymartin01
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: 9360

Re: Changing Default Search

That's not what I asked. That just changes my browser start page to Google UK, which is not what I want. I want to change the default extended search engine to Google UK - not the same at all.
Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
f0xx386
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎06-10-2012
My Device: Curve 9360

Re: Changing Default Search

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Changing Default Search

Hello raymartin01

 

 

                                  I don't think you can set your Search Engine to GoogleUK but yes you can change your default search engine to Google.For that Open your Browser > Press the Menu Key > Manage Search Engine > Select Google from the list. As f0xx suggested set your Home page to Google.co.uk.

 

 

 

Prince

______________________________________________________________________

 

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.

If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
Super Contributor
f0xx386
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎06-10-2012
My Device: Curve 9360

Re: Changing Default Search

I'm trying to alter search engine parameters in 3rd party browser like Opera or UC.

Native browser proved fruitless thus far.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
raymartin01
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
My Device: 9360

Re: Changing Default Search

Thank you for your replies Gentlemen, neither of them were quite right.

 

I found the answer in the Support Pages. On the Browser Settings page, under Manage Search Options, I added a new search engine, Google UK, with the following address:

 

http://www.google.co.uk/m/search?q=%s

 

This does exactly what I wanted.

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Changing Default Search

Hello raymartin01

 

 

 

                                    Thanks for sharing the Solution..

 

 

 

Prince

___________________________________________________________________________

 

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.

If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.