Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Member
cjlopez04
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

Anyone else having trouble with their BB Curve? Lately the hourglass is constantly playing and I have to wait until the hourglass is gone before I get normal function?
Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

probably a lack of free memory.

home screen > options >> status >> file free
how much ?
you should have more than 10'000'000.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Member
cjlopez04
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

I have 0 file free
Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

if I were you, I' immediately do this : the hard reboot. Don't worry, you can't lose data with this reboots.

Hard reboot :
1) your Blackberry device is on
2) remove the battery and wait for a minute
3) Put the battery back
4) wait 5 minutes for the device to wake up.


Please tell us how much you have now.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Member
cjlopez04
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

2*850*335

 

What is causing my memory to fill up? I have a memory card and save all my pics, vid and music to the card.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,379
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z10 10.1.0.2312 / Playbook 2.1 / 8900 5.0
My Carrier: Vodafone France (SFR) & B&You

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

home screen >> options >> status >> menu >> show databases

there, you can see what is taking so much space.
copy everything here so we can make a diagnosis.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Please use plain text.
New Member
cjlopez04
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

I don't have a "menu" item under status nor "show database"
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
frankacano
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

cklopez04,

 

I have found that I get the hour glass if I have installed certain applications that requiret a large amount of network or compute power.  Tiggit mail, Google sync, too many IM applications turned on.

 

f.e. First time I turned on Google sync, my hand held go slow until the first sync was done

I did a foolish thing and logged in on all of the instant messaging apps at one time.  Brougth the phone to a screeching halt.

 

What do you have running when you see the hour glass?

 

-Frank

Please use plain text.
New Member
cjlopez04
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

Nothing is running, just the home screen is present and nothung that I know of in the background.
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
frankacano
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-06-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8320 Persistant Hourglass

Re-check Xandrex's suggestion.  it is a tricky thing.

 

Once you are in Settings, go and select Status.

Once you see the Status screen you will see entires like "File Free"

 

Weird part - Hit the menu button again.

 

Then you will see that the local menu has a application size option.  That is what Xandrex is talking about.

 

There you can see exactly which database/application is eating up your memory.

 

(BTW I'm running 4.5 on an 8320)

 

-Frank

 

Please use plain text.