Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
gregoryameyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
My Carrier: TMobile

Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

I was taking a picture and the screen went totally white. I've tried pulling the battery twice and the blackberry reboot bar runs all the way through and it goes to a white screen again. I can't get it to do anything. I've never had this happen before. Ideas?

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gregoryameyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

I restarted again and it rebooted properly and showed the homescreen, and then dissolved to pure white again after about 5 sec.

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Bifocals
Posts: 16,192
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

Hi and welcome to the forums!

 

You could be displaying a blank (white) picture. You said you saw your homescreen so I don't think you have the picture selected as background. When you have the white screen press menu and see if you are in media.

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gregoryameyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

No, it is like the phone is frozen. None of the keys do anything. And a picture from the media files shouldn't replace the homescreen after rebooting.

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gregoryameyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

Ok, i connected it to my laptop and let the phone go through the whole synch/backup process and it is now working fine. No special messages came up or anything.

Thanks for the help anyway everyone. I'll hope this is a permanent fix.
Please use plain text.
Guru I
Bifocals
Posts: 16,192
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

Hi,

I hope that fixed it as well! :Clover:

The possible cause of the problem would be a corrupt media file cache. When you ran the desktop software synchronization the media cache index files were

recreated. The link below is reference.

Thanks,

 

Bifocals


KB26203  The media cache has been corrupted



Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Please use plain text.
New Contributor
gregoryameyer
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-14-2011
My Carrier: TMobile

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

Thanks. I did another reboot because of a software update and the screen went white again!. I connected to my laptop and ran the software and it is fine again. I think I'll update the blackberry's own software and see if that helps. Although I think it is already updated since I do that automatically.

 

Please use plain text.
Guru I
Bifocals
Posts: 16,192
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Curve 8900 is stuck on a WHITE SCREEN

Hi,

That's odd. If it is related to the media cache the KB did recommend deleting the .Dat files. Please let us know how it goes, OK?

Thanks,

 

Bifocals

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Please use plain text.