Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
Contributor
Woudenberg
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: Curve 9320
Accepted Solution

Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Curve 9320 is my first Smartphone after an old style phone. I have managed to figure out the very basics, texts, accessing the web, etc. I need a little help with the rest, e.g. I tried to download a free application, but get the message Error 40721 -No cached credentials.

A) do I need to register somewhere my details in order to download (even Free) applications,where and how?

B) I haven't got a Blackberry ID, or more precisely don't know what is it.  In what way is it useful?

These are my most immediate questions, and I would appreciate some basic instruction, where and how to..

Many thanks

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi Woudenberg

 

Welcome to BlackBerry Support Forums.

 

 

First of all you need to add a BlackBerry Data plan also known as BIS on your Account from your Carrier T - Mobile ,After having this you can enjoy all features of BlackBerry Sevices, 

 

You have  to create a BlackBerry ID associated with your device which is unique and will allow you to access  to multiple BlackBerry products like BBM, App World ,BlackBerry Protect etc.Please check those Article I hope it will help you :

 

KB29610  : What is a BlackBerry ID.

 

KB17659 : Minimum requirement for BlackBerry App World

 

KB02189 :  How to associate email address with blackberry internet account.

 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Woudenberg
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: Curve 9320

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

As suggested I have now added

A) the T-Mobile BlackBerry service to the phone, that is, I followed the instruction of texting as indicated, but have no  indication (such as automated response or other) that the service is now active.

B) I created a Blackberry ID. However when I try to access it on the Smartphone I get: 'Unable to update Blackberry ID while offline'  But I am automatically online if I click on the Browser icon.  

 

What I am I missing?

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi Woudenberg

 

 

                            When we activate BIS on our account we recieve an activation message on our device have you recieved that message ? It may take a few hours to activate your BIS account but it depends on Carrier.

 

I think your device is not registered yet with your carrier , you call your carrier and they will let you know how much time it may take to activate BIS on your device . Once you got the activation message on your device you can create or Update the BlackBerry ID .

 

On our device Homescreen when we go to Manage Connection > Service Status > BlackBerry Internet Service = is it connected ? It should be connected to Mobile network .

 

If services are activated On your Homescreen in upper right corner before signal strength we should see uppercase EDGE or 3G but not  GSM or edge.

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Woudenberg
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: Curve 9320

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi again, I am connected to the internet...  3G is clearly there, as well as being able to access the web... Still when I go to BB ID on the phone I get: 'Unable to update BB ID account  info while offline'.  But I am online, and have been from the start..  I thik that is why I had no response (auto or other) from T-Mobile, beacause I already have the BIS is already avtivated.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi Woudenberg

 

 

                           First Restart your device like this Device POWERED ON remove the Battery wait for a min. then re -insert it back,wait till your device takes a long reboot.

 

Then On your Homescreen can you see a BlackBerry logo beside 3G ? Also as said On your Device Homescreen Go to Manage Connection > Service Status > BlackBerry Internet Services = ? what you see ? 

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Woudenberg
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: Curve 9320

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi Prince

 

I rebooted... The 3G is there but NOT the BB logo. In service status I get: No Blackeberry internet connection, but connected to T-Mobile OK.  

 

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi Woundenberg

 

 

I thing your Carrier have still not activated BlackBerry Data Plan aka BIS on your account. BIS is different from a normal data plan ,a normal data plan will allow you to browse internet but will not give access to BlackBerry application .So I prefer you should give a call to T-Mobile to re- confirm if they had alloted BIS on your account or not.

 

When BlackBerry Data plans are activated on your device then On Manage Connection > Service Status > BlackBerry Internet Service = it will be " Mobile Network "  

 

So call T - Mobile  and let us know of your updates.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.
Contributor
Woudenberg
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎12-23-2012
My Device: Curve 9320

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

I will do that then, then. many thanks for your help.

Please use plain text.
Elite II
prince2012
Posts: 7,969
Registered: ‎06-01-2012
My Device: Curve

Re: Curve 9320 new user, I need a little help

Hi Woundenberg

 

 

                                You are welcome and be sure to ask them for BlackBerry Data Plan or BIS ,Good Luck.

___________________________________________________________________________

Click " Like " if you want to Thank someone.
If Problem Resolves mark the post(s) as " Solution ", so that other can make use of it.
Please use plain text.