Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

New Contributor
thosaid
My Device: Not Specified

How to connect and use WiFi??

i just got my blackberry 8900. i talked to my service provider and they said if the phone is equipped with WiFi then i should be able to use it without being charged. Can someone do me a big favor and write a tutorial on how i can connect to WiFi? i keep getting stopped by the phone asking me to press in a sort of key right when im about to connect, such as a WEP key? nd other sorts of keys. can someone explain WiFi to me?
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
hawk45

Re: How to connect and use WiFi??

I'm new to the 8900 also.. but here is what I understand. 

1. Do this: Go to Settings --> Options --> Advanced Options --> Browser --> Change "Default browser configuration:" to "Hotspot Browser" from "MediaNet".  This will automaticlly use WiFi instead of Edge/BB Network when a WiFi hotspost is detected and logged into.

2. The password you are being asked for is the WEP password set on you home network wireless router.  Same thing if you tried to use someone elses laptop at your house to connect to your router.  You set the password and anytime you connect a device to your network you need to enter it.  If you forgot what it is.. then login to your router and reset it.. usually 10 letters/digits.

3. Now you can go to Setup --> Set Up WiFi --> Go through the wizard (Next) --> Scan for Networks --> Select yours or the one you want to connect to --> Enter the WAP password if one is required -->  Once setup you can go to the "Wi-Fi Hotspot Login" and connect.  Or you can go to "Browser" on you main icon list and should take you to the internet (due to step #1 above).  Make sure the upper left corner says "WiFi" and not "Edge".