Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-27-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

Hey all,

 

I'm a BB newbie.  I installed an 8GB MicroSD card.  Finally figured out that you must format the card from the device in order to get it to work.

 

However, in doing so, my 8GB card is only recognized as 4GB.  Is there a maximum size card that the 8300 series(I have an 8320 through T-Mobile)  will recognize or is there something strange going on with my MicroSD card???

 

The manual isn't clear on that.

 

Thank you

 

 

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 414
Registered: ‎04-02-2008
My Device: Q10 OS 10.1, PlayBook (WiFi 64 Gig)

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

Supported SD card size is OS dependant as follows:

BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.0 - Up to 2 GB
BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.1 - Up to 4 GB
BlackBerry Device Software 4.2.2 - Up to 4 GB
BlackBerry Device Software 4.3.0 - Up to 8 GB
BlackBerry Device Software 4.5.0 - Up to 8 GB
BlackBerry Device Software 4.6.0 - Up to 16 GB

Note that 16 Gigs was just added to the list a few days ago! This is directly from the Tech Support Site here:

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&externalId=KB05461

 

Jerry
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

Just updated today. Yay, new 4.5 OS's will get 16GB support. Of note:

 

BlackBerry Device Software 4.5.0.81 and above Up to 16 GB
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Guru I
Posts: 19,007
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

I'm laughing when I saw the AT&T ad about 4.5 (will be released mid-sept) that says 4.5 allows 32GB memory cards.
those market spindoctors !

http://www.blackberrynews.com/2008/09/02/os-45-on-att-download-mid-september/




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

[ Edited ]

Hi JerryD,

 

I've been searching round the BlackBerry site for the updated Device Software you reference, as I have recently purchased a 8GB mico-SD card. Can you please advise as to a link where I can get hold of the correct Device Software?

 

Vodafone UK only has version 4.2.2.222 at https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/browseSoftware.do 

 

:smileysad: 

 

Cheers

Message Edited by bluemarce305 on 09-10-2008 11:45 AM
Guru I
Posts: 19,007
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

you have the correct link. Don't be too upset. 90% of Curve owners have the 4.2.
AT&T still has 4.2 and they are the biggest Blackberry carrier.

just wait a bit.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

... so why not use another carrier's os for that device model and use that?
------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/
Guru I
Posts: 19,007
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?


AndyDufresne wrote:
... so why not use another carrier's os for that device model and use that?
since I've never done that (I'm a bit of coward), I can't tell people to do that on a support community forum.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

I agree, I'm not sure what the implications would be if using another providers software update. I know Vodafone lock like to lock down their phones.

 

Guess I'll just have some patience.

Forums Veteran II
Posts: 2,744
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Bold

Re: Is There A Maximum Size Limit for The MicroSD Card?

Don't knock it till you've tried it.

 

for the past 2 years of applying other carrier os's to my device I have not had any problem related to the carrier it comes from being the method of distribution.  Remember, RIM develops all the software and then the carriers certify it as something they want to release to their customers.  Just because a carrier hasn't certified a specific OS does not mean it won't work 100% correctly on that device.

 

You'll find lots of other people that do the same thing.   Plus, if you're worried about what will happen ... just take a backup!

------------------------------
If you've found a solution through a post; please mark it as a solution.
If someone's was particularly helpful, give them kudo's!.


Get busy living, or get busy dying.

http://blog.port3101.org/hdawg/