Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-30-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Japan bound

I will be working in Japan for 2 years.  Will my Blackberry Curve 8310 work there?
New Developer
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎07-22-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Japan bound

I´m going to visit Tokyo on Octuber and I asked my operator (Vodafone) if I could use my BlackBerry 8310 there.

They told me that in Japan any operator gives suport for GPRS, they only gives suport for 3G and HSDPA so only 3G (UMTS) and HSDPA phones will work in there.

That answer worried me because then our BB 8310 wil not work at Japan.

 

Any one could confirm this?

Guru I
Posts: 18,577
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Japan bound

8310 is GSM/EDGE so no 3G available.
Japan is only 3G.

maybe you can upgrade to a 8330 ?

if you look at what Blackberry sells in Japan, there is the 8703 :

http://www.blackberrycool.com/2008/07/ntt-docomo-launching-bis-in-japan/

 

the specs are here at the botton of the table :

 8703 : http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices/device-detail.jsp?navId=H0,C63,P204#tab_tab_specifications

 

8330 : http://na.blackberry.com/eng/devices/device-detail.jsp?navId=H0,C221,P883#tab_tab_specifications

 

both have Dual-band 800/1900 Mhz CDMA2000 and Ev-DO.

 

 

But the problem will certainly be the carrier contract. You can do roaming (very expensive) or buy a Blackberry on the local market (2years => it should be okay).




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too: