Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
Contributor
vanessa_jr
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
Accepted Solution

Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

Hi,

 

I was experiencing some problems with my Blackberry Curve 9300 (very slow, low application memory, etc.) and so I decided to restore the factory settings. After that, I restored my backup file but when I ended configuration and tried to change the input language, the Portuguese file was missing (I only have English and English US available). 

I already instaled the firware again, tried to restore another full backup but nothing has worked so far.

 

Do you have any other suggestions? I'm really bored at this...

 

Thank you so much,

Vanessa

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,755
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

Hello,

 

From your post, I cannot tell if you've followed all of the necessary procedures or not. Hence, you may need all, some, or none of this...

 

Language support on a BB is a combination of:

  1. Installing, to your BB, an OS package that includes your desired language
  2. Including, in that installation, the language you desire (two locations, as I recall)
  3. Activating, on the BB, your desired language

So, please start here...this is how you choose the appropriate OS package for your needs:

  • KB05305Localization support for BlackBerry smartphones

Then, choose your package via this portal:

Then, from a PC, you can install any compatible (e.g., for your exact BB Model Number) OS package to a BB via this procedure:

Note that while written for "reload" and the Storm, it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload any BB device model -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. If that OS package is from a carrier other than the carrier for which your BB was originally manufactured, then delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.


If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
vanessa_jr
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

I already downloaded the Device Software for devices of Vodafone Portugal. However, my phone isn't blocked to the network - I bought it as a network free phone. Do you believe this may influence this problem?

Also, I cannot find the AppLoader file. Can you help me figuring out why?

 

Thank you so much for your first reply,

Vanessa

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,755
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300


vanessa_jr wrote:

I already downloaded the Device Software for devices of Vodafone Portugal. However, my phone isn't blocked to the network - I bought it as a network free phone. Do you believe this may influence this problem?


The source of the file is not relevant...the filename of the file is what matters, as per the KB on localization I provided above. Please review that to be sure you've got a file that includes the languages you require.


vanessa_jr wrote:

 

Also, I cannot find the AppLoader file. Can you help me figuring out why?

 


Maybe...if you give me a little bit more detail...from those words, I can guess nothing. Please review carefully my post above. If you get stuck somewhere, please be very explicit...quoting what I say in the post can help me greatly in understanding exactly where you are.

Let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
vanessa_jr
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

Well, on this link http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Device-software-for-BlackBerry/How-To-Reload-Your-Operating-S... that you gave on the first post, Krypto says to open the file Loader.exe, on the AppLoader folder (#2). But I can't find that folder, through any of the paths Krypto gave. So, I wanted to know if you can hel me with that.

 

Thank you,

Vanessa

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,755
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

OK...that helps...and I can try...so, the two paths listed are:

  • C:\Program Files\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader\
  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader\

How do those compare to what you see on your computer?


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
vanessa_jr
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

Ok, I find it now! I was looking under the Research in Motion folder on 'Program Files' folder only, I didn't realize it was on the Common Files Folder first. I will try this procedure; if it works, I'll let you know! 

 

Thank you so much for you help so far!

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,755
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

You are welcome...good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
vanessa_jr
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-12-2012
My Device: Curve 9300

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

It worked! Thank you so much for your help, sdgardne! :smileyhappy:

Hall of Famer II
sdgardne
Posts: 48,755
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: Z30, Z10 & Q10 (10.2.2.1531), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)

Re: Language inputs missing on Blackberry Curve 9300

You are most welcome...enjoy!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!
If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button inside of their post. Please click here and read, along with the threads to which it links, for helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions.
Join our BBM Channels
BSCF General Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code