Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
psewall
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
My Device: Curve 9640
My Carrier: AT&T

Need help! BIS/BES

I need help with BIS/BES setup. User in my office switched from BES to BIS and now wants to go back. He hates that there is no 2-way sync with Outlook using BIS, so emails which have been read from his PC remain unread on his BB device.

 

I've sat on hold for an hour. Can't seem to get anyone on the phone. I'm not a BB user, and I have no idea what I'm doing. It seems rediculous to use BES for one single user. There must be a way around this. 

 

Please help!!! 

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

With BIS, it depends on how the email is setup.  Here is some info:

http://btsc.webapps.blackberry.com/btsc/viewdocument.do?externalId=KB05133&sliceId=2&cmd=displayKC&d...

 

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
psewall
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
My Device: Curve 9640
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

Thanks for the link, but according to the chart there is no read/unread reconciliation from mailbox to BlackBerry smartphone. This makes no sense to me. I am an iPhone user and do not have this problem. For someone who travels a lot and is always on the go, but who also spends time reading email in the office, this is a major drawback to BIS. However it just doesn't make sense financially to implement a BES for one single user. 

 

This is crazy, what should I do? For 3 years we had him running BES, but it was a patchwork assembly. We basically installed WS 2003 on a Compaq Presario (not my call) and hosted the BES there. All was fine until the equipment went bad recently. Now our IT department thinks its rediculous to continue using a solution that cannot be trusted (if say, we paid to have the compaq repaired) nor does it make sense to purchase an actual server for one person.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

I understand.  Another option is to use Blackberry Enterprise server express.

http://us.blackberry.com/business/software/besx.html

the software is free and you can install it on an existing exchange server.

 

I've also attached the system requirements:

http://us.blackberry.com/apps-software/business/server/express/RIM1365+System+Requirements_v4-HR.PDF

 

Specifications:

http://us.blackberry.com/business/software/besx/specifications.html

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
psewall
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
My Device: Curve 9640
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

Thanks. So the BES Express will act just the same as a standard BES? I watched the video but it didn't mention read/unread reconciliation.

 

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

That is correct:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/deliverables/14334/Managing_wireless_message_reconciliation_2245...

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
psewall
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
My Device: Curve 9640
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

I"m getting some pushback from the IT company we work with. They're telling me it is generally not a good idea to install BESExpress on an Exchange server. Is this true?

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

Here is what I found:

http://docs.blackberry.com/en/admin/deliverables/14347/SR_BES_Hardware_Xprs_998467_11.jsp

 

"If you install all BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express components on the same computer as Microsoft Exchange or Windows® Small Business Server, it is a best practice to support up to 75 users only on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express. If you want to support more than 75 users on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express, it is a best practice to install the BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express components on computers that are separate from the computer that hosts Microsoft Exchange or Windows® Small Business Server."

 

I'm not an exchange admin and I'm not familiar with their setup, but it seems like it would be OK since this is for one person.  that link has a good chart showing the hardware requirements.

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
psewall
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-13-2013
My Device: Curve 9640
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

Thanks for all of your advice. As it turns out, our Exchange server is running too low on disk space to even accomodate the BES software. Yes, it's that bad. Unfortunatley we cannot afford to replace any servers this FY so we'll have to set up another patchwork BES solution.

 

FWIW, we're just going to purchase a new box, install Windows Server 2008 on it and use that as the BES until we upgrade our servers.

Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,329
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Q10 / Playbook

Re: Need help! BIS/BES

[ Edited ]

I totally understand that.  Another option is to setup a vmware to run the software.  I'm not trying to get too techy but your IT department will know what I mean!  http://www.vmware.com/

they should address the disk space issue asap on that exchange server!

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.