Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
oluwarufus
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: T mobile
Accepted Solution

No 3G option on my curve 9360

Pls, I use a curve 9360 phone with a default carrier of T mobile which I had to jailbreak to use my local network. But since then the only available network mode is 2G and '3G & 2G'. I don't av d 3G only option even though my OS is 7.1. And I have people around me using the same model but have the option on theirs. Pls what can I do to change to & remain on 3G only. Thanks
Please use plain text.
Forums Veteran II
Wolf359
Posts: 3,358
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

Have you called the carrier?  If not, I recommend you contact them for assistance. (Call from another phone if possible)

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution! :Balloon:
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 84,455
Likes: 22,909
Solutions: 5,893
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

So what's the "local network" you're now using it with?

 

For instance, if on ATT, using a Tmobile 9360, you won't get 3g, as ATT and Tmobile use different 3G bands.

Tmobile's 3G band is actually different than most in the world, except maybe WIND in Canada, I think, and a few in Europe.




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
oluwarufus
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: T mobile

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

I use Airtel Nigeria. I have people around me using the same network but have the option on their phone. At times when I'm on the move I have 3G displayed in the 3G & 2G mode
There is even a neighbour that uses the same phone and network with OS 7.0 that have this 3G only network mode. In 3G & 2G mode all I have is EDGE while his displays 3G in the 3G only mode.
Or do you think this have to do with the 3G network strength per time and location?
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 84,455
Likes: 22,909
Solutions: 5,893
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

Is their device also from TMobile ?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
oluwarufus
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: T mobile

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

The other device is not from T mobile.
I called the network provider and they told me it's not a network issue.
All I'm after is a fast internet network each time I use the phone's mobile hotspot on my laptop.
Kindly help me out.
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 84,455
Likes: 22,909
Solutions: 5,893
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

Ummm, we've been trying to help you. Read my post above. I have a feeling you've have a device that is not compatible with the 3g on your network. Is this one from TMobile USA?




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
oluwarufus
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: T mobile

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

Yes it's from T-mobile USA
Please use plain text.
New Contributor
oluwarufus
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-30-2012
My Device: Curve 9360
My Carrier: T mobile

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

Or does anyone have the idea of how the 3G & 2G option works? How strong should the 3G signal be before it shows 3G??
Please use plain text.
JSanders
Posts: 84,455
Likes: 22,909
Solutions: 5,893
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: No 3G option on my curve 9360

The Tmobile 9360 operates on a different 3G bandwidth than Airtel Nigeria does.

You will only reliably get 2G EDGE services.

 




1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes


Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Please use plain text.