Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® Curve™

Reply
New Contributor
jims8310
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

Hi,

 

Anyone in the UK got a BB setup on O2 but not using BB Data Plan?

Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

[ Edited ]
Without BlackBerry data plan your phone will have voice and SMS texting service. Other features of the device will not work. This is irrespective of any network you belong to.
Message Edited by tanzim on 07-21-2008 10:45 AM

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor
jims8310
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-20-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan


tanzim wrote:
Without BlackBerry data plan your phone will have voice and SMS texting service. Other features of the device will not work. This is irrespective of any network you belong to.
Message Edited by tanzim on 07-21-2008 10:45 AM

I thought I could use BB the same as my old phone with the SIM I have I could connect to GPRS and my SMS texts would receive fully. In BB I can use voice OK but not recieve SMS fully or connect to GPRS unless you know the settings I could enter manually?

Elite II
tanzim
Posts: 9,321
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Torch 9800

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

BlackBerry devices are hardcoded meaning no option for manual input for EDGE/GPRS.

tanzim                                                                                  
If your query is resolved then please click on Accept as Solution

Click on the LIKE on the bottom right if the post deserves credit

New Contributor
emekabarry
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

Hi, I can not recieve sms on my bb curve but can perform every other task including sending sms.

 

Puzzling as it may seem, I can send and recieve sms through the same sim card when inserted into another phone.

 

I use the MTN Nigeria network carrier and have confirmed that the message centre number is correct.

 

Does the Orange network logo on the boot screen have anything to do with it?

 

Any suggestions?

 

Thanks

Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,404
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z30, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: B&You _ SFR

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

[ Edited ]

emekabarry wrote:

Hi, I can not recieve sms on my bb curve but can perform every other task including sending sms.


Are you sure you don't receive the SMS ? First time, I knew I had received an SMS but did crawl a bit before finding the SMS inbox folder.
Message Edited by Xandrex on 08-17-2008 11:05 PM



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
emekabarry
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-17-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

Oh Yes but that was then.

 

I've been able to fix it.

 

It so happened that the firewall was set to block incoming sms & mms.

 

To deactivate, I unchecked  the boxes by going through this menu: Menu key --> Options --> Security options --> Firewall.

 

Hope this helps someone else with similar challenges.

Guru I
Xandrex
Posts: 18,404
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Z30, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: B&You _ SFR

Re: O2 Setup without BB Data Plan

okay, I understand. for others who may have the same issue, can you click on the green box on the right of your last message ?

thanks.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too: